Lord of The Rings Nursery

Being creative people, when hubby and I decided to create a nursery for Ella, we knew we wanted something unique and not “cookie-cutter from a ready made kit”.  Hubby had the idea to create a Lord of the Rings inspired nursery and we got cracking as soon as we found out we were having a girl.

We painted the room in two shades of light green and replaced the carpet with vinyl plank that looks like wood(we did this in the whole house actually).  I then used a projector to trace Durin’s door on one wall and the White Tree of Gondor on another.

IMG_2791

 

I also created a banner to hang over the dresser/changing table based upon the one in Arwen’s room in Rivendell.  It was a combination of sewing and fabric painting.  The main banner fabric is a dark purple velvet. The river is silk chiffon and the back of the banner is made from light grey satin.  I used gold bias tape for the trim and fabric paints to create the rest of the designs.

DSC_0044

 

I made the changing pad cover out of dotted green minky. I also made one out of green rosette minky, but hubby prefers the dotted cover so we use it most of the time.

For the crib linens I knew I wanted to make my own dust ruffle, but I had a hard time finding the right fabric.  I ended up stumbling across some curtains at Tuesday morning that I used both for fabric and as curtains in the nursery.  I also used the curtain fabric to make pillows for our rocking chair and recover a pouf my MIL got us.  I found a remnant of fabric that coordinated with my curtain fabric so I used that to make the trim for my pieces as well as cover a pillow.

DSC_0038

DSC_0037

 

We found a mobile at a thrift store and I made the the floral pieces and the handle cover out of the same minky as the changing pad cover.  Hubby made the handle out of wood scraps as the one that came with the mobile didn’t work on her crib.

DSC_0039

We want Ella to grow up loving books, so we have collected a pretty good number of books for her.  Hubby decided he wanted to make her a bookshelf out of wood scraps and trim pieces leftover from other projects around the house(she has way more books now than she had in this picture).

DSC_0036

 

We got 2 faux fur rugs to add some softness and lighten up the dark floors.  The final finishing touch was adding her name with wooden letters over her the chest of drawers we picked up on clearance that matched her dresser.  I also used the leftover flowers from her mobile and put them in a vase we got for our wedding.

DSC_0041I absolutely ADORE her room.  It is very peaceful and beautiful in there.  Of course she’s only spent maybe 3 nights in there as she usually is in the pack n’play in my room, but we are working on transitioning her to her crib.  The cool thing is, we’ve had several people who are NOT familiar with LOTR come in her room and they just think it’s a elvish/fairy princess room…so…win-win!

I hope you enjoyed this look at Ella’s nursery…we worked very hard on it!

-Tamara

 

9 thoughts on “Lord of The Rings Nursery

  1. Karen Coelho says:

    I’m 65 and I love LOTR’s! I would like to know if you used something to trace the entrance gate to Moria. Want to do one wall in my bedroom with the Moria gate. Also, I’m going to use to outline it with glow in the dark paint. That would look awesome. Also doing my bathroom in Star Wars.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I used a projector to put the image on the wall and then traced it with pencil and painted it in. I was going to try to use glow in the dark paint but it didn’t work well according to the reviews I read. My dad wants to someday get a house with a double door for the front door and he wants me to paint Durin’s door on it!

  2. Wendy Thornley says:

    Please tell me you painted Durin’s door with glow in the dark paint, thats all I could think about when I saw what a beautiful job you both did. Very lucky child to be earthside with you.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      We tried to do glow in the dark paint but it didn’t get very good reviews! And I thought about going over the purple with glow in the dark paint but ran out of time/energy haha.

Leave a Reply

