Recycled Pictures

So this picture is actually from when I was around 21 weeks pregnant, but it somehow never made it onto the blog.  I am actually wearing the same exact outfit today and having a bad hair day, so I figured why not use an old picture(of course NOW my belly is significantly bigger and my hair isn’t so vibrant red)?

recycled-3

 

{Dress: Old Navy Maternity, Shoes: Coach, Necklace: Maurices}

We had a whirlwind of a weekend!  Friday night after work, we headed off to a barbecue at the house of one of the ophthalmologists to whom I refer patients.  It was a great night to see other OD’s and MD’s who I co-manage patients with as well as meet some new docs.

Saturday was mostly spent running errands.  Because of the huge flooring debacle, Home Depot gave a us a $750 gift card as a courtesy.  Unfortunately we couldn’t use said gift card to post-apply to the flooring, so we decided to tackle another project we had always wanted to do in the house:  build a pantry in the space underneath the stairs.  We’ll be storing our freezer(which is currently in the garage) in there, as well as a set of floor to ceiling shelving and hopefully the stroller.  We’re also building a little dog nook next to the pantry so that the girl’s cage doesn’t have to sit in the middle of a room.

Most of Saturday am was spent at Home Depot(it’s not a weekend if we are not at Home Depot, Lowes or both at least once!).  In the afternoon, we drove into town with the trailer on my SUV to pick up the rocking chair my parents were giving us(it was the same rocker my mom rocked me to sleep in as a baby!!) and the dresser we ordered from Haverty’s two months ago for the nursery.  While we were doing the paperwork for the dresser, I noticed the matching chest was sitting in the clearance section at about 50% of the full price.  Well, we took that as a sign and bought the matching dresser to go on the empty space between the door and the closet!

It’s crazy how quickly running errands eats up your time!!

Sunday was a work day for hubby, so I puttered around doing chores(ironing/cooking/cleaning) and some unsuccessful sewing.  I’ve decided that for whatever reason, sewing maternity clothes is just NOT my forte.  I’ve had FOUR failures(2 dresses and 2 skirts) and I’m DONE wasting expensive knit fabric.  I’ll save my clothing sewing for after I have this baby.

The nursery is really starting to come together now.  Realistically we are ready, but I do want to make a few things.  As I mentioned last time, I’m making a bed skirt for the crib, a changing pad cover, padded cushions for the rocker and re-covering a pouf to make a footrest, as well as a banner to hang over the dresser.  We also want to find different curtain rods, but we’ll probably be using the same curtains that room always had since they are a darker shade of green than the wall and coordinate really well.

nursery1

nursery2

We’re getting another rug in a smaller round shape to go under the rocking chair.  Don’t worry, it’s faux and completely machine washable…but it certainly feels real(as you can see the dogs love it).

I’m very happy with the way the nursery is shaping up.  I’m not much of a baby decorations person so I wanted a nice nursery that would grow into a good room for an older child, and I think we’ve accomplished that.  When the time comes, we’ll buy the matching twin bed for the chest/dresser.

Have a great week…I’m aiming to post more than once this week :-/…we’ve just been sooo busy at work and home I haven’t had the opportunity to get around to it.

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Recycled Pictures

  1. ADA says:

    Girl you got so much done last weekend, it’s crazy. The nursery is looking wonderful as do you. I love the bigger bump and please show us more photos of it.

    Have a fantastic week and stop by if you like. I am showcasing all new dresses this week on my blog. Thanks, Ada. =)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I would’ve taken a new picture today with the bigger bump but I was having a seriously bad hair day and decided to use this older pic! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

