BACK

Hey everyone that might still be around!  I know it’s bee sooo long since I posted, but the flooring debacle I wrote about in my last post turned into a really long saga and we’ve just recently completed all the flooring and are now doing the finishing touches of adding quarter round and cleaning/re-arranging.

I’m not going to lie, while on my hiatus I often thought about giving up my blog.  Recently, several of my favorite fellow fashion bloggers have given up the game.  As recently as this weekend, I was planning to write a farewell post.

But then, yesterday I started a sewing project that will be a special bridal gift and it got me really excited and I wanted to share it, and other sewing things I made, so I decided to keep on keeping on for now.

Because of pregnancy-induced sickness, then the flooring debacle with my sewing room being packed away, I hadn’t been sewing or knitting much.  I’ve managed to do a few crafty things, and I wanted to share those with you.

First up is a flower girl dress I made for my niece to wear in a June wedding.  I had SO MUCH fun making this dress and she looked adorable in it.  I also knitted her a white shrug but I didn’t get any pictures of it(whoops).

IMG_2705

 

We’ve also been hard at work on the nursery.  We decided to go with a Lord of the Rings/Elvish feel, but not over the top that if you weren’t a LOTR fan, you’d still like it.  We painted three of the four walls a light sea foam green color with the fourth wall being a darker green.

Using a projector I traced the Tree of Gondor on the wall next to the crib and painted it in with white paint. On the darker green wall, I traced and painted Durin’s Door(also known as the door to Moria).

IMG_2791

 

IMG_2793

For anyone concerned re: paint fumes, we used low/no VOC paint and I wore a fume mask(that makes me sound like Darth Vader).  I still have to make a bed skirt, changing pad coversand make some pillows for a rocking chair and recover a pouf that I will use as an ottoman.

I’m also re-creating the banner that hangs in Arwen’s bedroom in Rivendell with some fabric and fabric paints, in a addition to a few other small projects.

I will definitely be posting some full afters once the room is complete.  I love being in the nursery.  It’s so calming to me and I hope that baby girl feels the same way!

I’d love to show you the gift I was working on last night that so inspired me to get back into blogging, but it will have to wait a week or so till the recipient sees it first! I’ve also been working on some projects for my sister’s baby shower, which you’ll get to see later in August.

Well, since this is *technically* a fashion/outfit blog I best leave you with an outfit right?  Since I haven’t posted in 2 months, you may be surprised to see how much bigger my belly is!!  I’m several weeks into the third trimester at this point and doing fairly well so far.  My biggest complaints are heartburn/indigestion and achey feet(but so far no/minimal swelling which I’m sure will change soon).

back-1-3

{Blouse: Gap Maternity, Leggings: Target Maternity: Cardigan: J Crew Outlet, Necklace: Ebay}

-Tamara

14 thoughts on “BACK

  1. dragonflyzia says:

    Oh….I want to sleep in that nursery…it’s amazing. I have thought of you on and off the last few weeks…I missed your blog! Heartburn means hair and you look adorable! i am happy that all is well with you and your family. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I know right…that nursery is so peaceful to me, I want to curl up in there. My parents loved the wall color so much, they bought the same paint to paint one of their guest rooms.

  2. absolutelyunperfect says:

    Love your necklace! Love the nursery- a few days ago I was saying to a friend that a LOTR (specifically Elvish style) nursery would be amazing… Thanks for letting me live vicariously through you until I’m blessed enough to become a mother.
    All the best ❤

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That’s awesome! I’m glad you approve. There aren’t many LOTR;s inspired nurseries out there, at least online when hubby and I looked for them. I can’t take credit for it though, he is actually the one that came up with the theme. The good thing about it is, if someone is not familiar with LOTR they can still appreciate it…we’ve had a few friends and family members who just thought it was like a princess room, so I guess that works.

  3. fitundgluecklich says:

    You are looking great!!! And I love the room so far, I’m already curious about the end product. I’ll show our nursery tomorrow on my blog 😉 I’m in week 42 now, 9 days overdue… Hope you are feeling well!!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      How overdue do they let you go over there? Here it seems to be a doctor to doctor variation. My doctor will let me go about 2 weeks over due, but I know of other people’s OB’s that won’t even let them go a few days over due. I’ll have an ultrasound at 36 weeks to check on position and size and I guess if she’s going to be HUGE they might induce me sooner.

  4. Andi says:

    Good to hear an update! I was thinking of you earlier this week and how I hadn’t seen a post from you in awhile. Then I got nervous that maybe I had accidentally unfollowed in one of my bloglovin purges, and I completely couldn’t remember your blog name. So I was happy to see a post from you in my feed! You are looking great! I hope the next few weeks are as easy as possible!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you very much. I hated being gone so long, but it is definitely nice to hear that I was missed 🙂

  5. heidi says:

    so great to hear from you! i hope you continue with your blog, i’m always so inspired by your sewing projects and your cute outfits! hope you have been doing well!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much!! I have been having a lot of struggles making some maternity clothes, so I’ve been concentrating more on making household things and gifts for all the baby and bridal showers I have this summer. Once I’ve given those gifts to their recipients I’ll be posting about them some more!

  6. ADA says:

    Oh girl, I am a reader and a fan as well so please do not quit. Your style is so girly and elegant with a 50’s feel to it. I love it. I love the paintings on the wall of the nursery so far and cannot wait till I see the whole thing together. Make sure you post photos from your sister-s shower too. Is she having a boy or a girl? So cool that you are both pregnant at the same time.

    Sending lots of positive thoughts your way. ❤ Ada.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      My sister is having a boy so we get to do all the fun things for both. Her nursery and party theme is sock monkey so it’s completely different than mine.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

