Me Made May: Maternity Pants

Ages ago, I came across some maternity clothing patterns at Goodwill for a few bucks, so I bought them thinking that if I ever did get pregnant, they definitely come in handy.

When I finally did get pregnant, I pretty much immediately went and bought some fabrics to make some dresses, skirts and tops.  I still haven’t gotten around to making those yet….

But I did make my first maternity clothing item this weekend.  Early in my pregnancy(around 10-11 weeks), I definitely wasn’t showing yet but I was most assuredly out-growing a lot of my clothes.  So, I broke down and bought a pair of maternity dress pants from Gap. They were/are just wonderful.  I wanted to order some more, but when I saw they were no longer on sale(full price $60+), I cringed and took a good look at the ones I already owned.

I realized maternity dress pants are basically just regular pants without a zipper and a stretchy panel in place of the waistband.  Because I have a few regular pants patterns, I decided to try my hand at making my own maternity pants.  I ordered 3 different patterns of stretch suiting fabric and went to town on the first pair this weekend.

I used the Thurlow pants pattern from Sewaholic patterns and I cut out a size 10(because I felt like I had gained so much girth in my hips/thighs).  This was a mistake as I had to take them in a TON(and they’re still too big and I need to take them in even more), but overall the process went smoothly.  I’ve already started on my second pair, and all in all I think I could probably make a pair in 4-6 hours flat.

Not having to put in a waistband/belt loops and a zipper certainly speeds things up.  I used a piece of stretchy tricot lining to make the panel.

maternity pants-1

{Blouse: Banana, Cardigan: Gap: Pants: Made by Me, Shoes: Dillards}

You may have also noticed my hair looks a bit different.  Well, that is a long story.  I wanted to add some vibrancy to my hair as I felt it was looking dull lately.  I had read that it is fine to dye your hair while pregnant, but that it’s a good idea to have someone else apply it.  So, I asked one of my co-workers who used to be a hair stylist(she cuts my hair) if she could color it for me.  We picked out a nice coppery auburn but something went wrong and it turned out RED.  Like crayola crayon , Ariel from the little mermaid red.  It was awful.

So she came over this weekend and re-dyed it with a darker auburn mixed with brown and it is still a lot redder than what we were going for, at least it looks okay.  I’ve actually been getting a lot of compliments on it, so overall I am happy.

In baby news, we are going for our anatomy scan this week, and if baby cooperates we’ll be able to find out if it’s a boy or a girl!  I think it’s a boy though. Either way, we are excited!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

