Details, Details

**If you couldn’t care less about pregnancy stuff, skip to the bottom for the outfit pics**

Thanks for all the congrats on my last post.  To say that hubby and I were shocked when we found out is an understatement. For those who haven’t been around here that long, I was diagnosed with infertility in 2012 secondary to severe endometriosis and told by my doctor that natural conception would be nearly impossible.

So, we had basically given up the idea that we would be having kids, because neither of could conceive of spending $20-30,000 we don’t have for IVF or adoption.  In fact, we had sat down at the beginning of this year and had written up a 5 year plan on how we were going to cut back on our discretionary spending to  pay my car off early, then attack my student loan.

This 5 year plan is one of the reasons I wrote about cutting back  my posting back in early January(I wasn’t even technically pregnant when I wrote that, though I’m glad I did since I’ve been posting so infrequently due to the pregnancy).  I was planning to not purchase any new clothes(unless absolutely necessary or with gift money/gift cards) or new fabric, and make do with all the clothes and fabric I already have.  It’s kind of hard to maintain a daily fashion blog with never before seen outfit combinations when you are not adding any new clothes to your wardrobe and you’ve been posting 5 days/week for over 2 years.  Obviously I’ve had to purchase maternity clothing so that kinda went out of the window..grrrr.

I found out at about 4 weeks, 5 days, when my period was 5 days late.  The only reason I tested is because I was running a race the next day(Tybee) and just thought, why not?  I really didn’t expect it to be positive.  In fact, I didn’t even have a pregnancy test, but used an ovulation predictor test, because I’d read they turn positive for pregnancy as well as ovulation.  I almost fell over when it turned positive.  But since it wasn’t a true pregnancy test(and also it was expired..haha), I immediately had to run to the store to buy a test, which obviously was also positive.

When we started trying in 2011, I had thought I would tell hubby in a cute way.  I had purchased an Atlanta Falcons Onesie and had planned to give it to him as a gift and watch as he realized what it meant.  Of course, when I really was pregnant I didn’t do my cute idea and instead woke him up from a dead sleep in utter disbelief saying, “I think I’m pregnant!”.

We told my parents that night, because I was running that race with my dad the next day and I wasn’t sure how I would be able to perform.  I ended up having no problems and even scored a 2 minute PR(though since then my running has gone to crap).

We told his parents and our siblings after I had the pregnancy confirmed at the doctor a few days later.  We waited until 14 weeks to tell the world(last week).    The CRAZY thing is, my sister was late on her period when I told her about my pregnancy, so she decided to take a test and lo and behold she was pregnant too…and due two days after me!

I don’t plan on this becoming a pregnancy/baby/mommy blog AT. ALL.  I know that a lot of people could care less about pregnancy, so I will try to keep my updates infrequent, but there will be some as I know some people(myself included) LOVE reading about pregnancy, so I’m going to try to keep it balanced.

Right now, I’m at 15.5 weeks.  I’ll be 16 weeks on Monday, but I’m not showing yet.  I’m definitely well into that looking chubby, but not pregnant stage.

One of the main reasons my blogging has been so sporadic is I don’t have TONS of clothes that fit me right now.  For the first few weeks of pregnancy, I was very lax in my eating because I figured morning sickness was around the corner and I better eat what I could now. Then when morning sickness hit(all day sickness..ahem), I found it was somewhat controlled by eating.  So I was basically eating ALL.THE.TIME.  By 11 weeks, I had gained close to 7  pounds.  Just this gain alone eliminated half of my closet.

In the past 4.5 weeks, I’ve been MUCH better about eating as the nausea has lessened(though not completely disappeared) and I’ve managed to slow down the weight gain.  I think I’m up a total of  8 or 9 pounds, which is still about 5 pounds more than I should be at this point, but what are you going to do?

I just don’t want to end up gaining 80 or 100 pounds.

I don’t need maternity clothing yet, but a lot of my regular stuff is way too small.  What I really need is my same clothes just in a bigger size!!

I’ve been trying to work out as much as possible, but for a month or so there, I hardly did anything.  I’ve been running about 1-2 times a week and it is a big struggle.  I get out of breath very easily and my pace has dropped by at least 40-50 sec AND I need to take breaks every 1-1.25 miles.  I did run a 5 k on Saturday without any breaks, but then I had to pretty much nap the rest of the day to recover.  I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to keep up running.  Last night I ran with my dad and husband and had to stop after 1.25 miles because I needed to go to the bathroom so badly it was hurting.  Hubby had to sprint a mile back to the car to come pick me up!

From weeks 5-8, I continued doing Z-Wow type workouts(body weight HIIT), but now that I’m into the second trimester, I’ve been more cautious.  This week I started a maternity workout video series(Body by Trimester) and boy am I ever sore!  Next week I’m going to start getting into swimming as I hear it’s a fantastic maternity workout.

Anyways, I’m finally starting to feel a bit better and get a handle on my wardrobe(I bought some maternity pants and a dress that I can wear now as well as later).  I also bought some fabric to make some more maternity pants and a few interim dresses/skirts.  I told hubby that if I were more sewing savvy and had more time and a bigger platform, I would definitely look into designing a clothing line for pregnant women that are stuck in the chubby but not pregnant looking phase.  Like a 12-20 week pregnant clothing line.  Even if you don’t gain weight like I have, you still somehow just end up bigger….and it’s not just your belly…My thighs and hips and booty have definitely gotten HUGE.  My sister has only gained a few pounds and yet she reports that she is just bigger all over and having trouble finding clothes.

Anyways, I am actually posting an outfit today! WHAT?! I found this skirt AGES ago at Goodwill and had planned to take it in and shorten it a tick so that it would fit me.  It’s been sitting in my repair/alter pile and this past weekend, I came across it and found that my now bigger size fit it into it much better.  I still think it could be an inch or two shorter, but I’m going to hold off for now and wait to see how my belly grows(I may be able to wear it for quite awhile if I pull it up over my belly as it gets bigger).

details-1

 

{Blouse: Gap, Cardigan: J Crew Outlet, Skirt: Goodwill, Necklace: F21, Shoes: Limited}

And a bonus outfit. This is what I wore yesterday. I felt like the outfit was cute in person but it didn’t photograph well, so I wasn’t going to post it and then I figured, why the heck not?  Ps-the pants are maternity!

As a side note, maternity pants are awesome.  I love them and will probably continue to wear them postpartum too, at least until I can fit back into my old stuff.

details-1-3

{Blouse/Sweater: Kohls, Necklace: Target, Pants: Gap Maternity, Shoes: Dillards}

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Details, Details

  1. dragonflyzia says:

    Some of us read because your an honest likable person. You should add stuff about the baby because that is what you are going through at this moment. I know how excited you are but based on what you have said in this post….I would like to be the first to guess boy. My son I carried everywhere, my daughter not so much. I know we are all different but it’s still fun to guess. 🙂

  2. Erika says:

    I am looking forward to your updates, baby and everything else. You have such great style, it’ll be neat to see how you transition through this phase.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I’m hoping to keep up the blog throughout the pregnancy and postpartum period to give ideas/inspiration for other pregnant working gals.

  3. Laura says:

    Tamara,
    I am so happy for you and I hope/pray that all goes well for you. And I am looking forward to maternity and baby updates…I’m sure your baby will be as fashionable as you are! 🙂
    Congratulations!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I hope to start having more actual maternity looks soon…I’m just waiting for my belly to start growing!

  4. heidi says:

    tamara, i again just want to express my congratulations to you and your husband, what a beautiful blessing! and i don’t mind what you post about – it’s your blog and you should focus on what is important to you or that you feel comfortable sharing. i’d love to read any updates along the way you want to share!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks for your kind words. I tend to read a lot of criticisms of other bloggers(big bloggers typically) and it seems like a lot of people hate too much pregnancy talk so I always try to get ahead of things I think other might not like.

Leave a Reply

