My First Sweater!

No, I’m not talking about the first sweater I ever wore or something crazy like that…but my first sweater I ever knitted myself!!

WHAT?  Yup, I finished knitting a sweater for myself(a few weeks ago actually but I delayed on adding the sleeves till yesterday) and am currently wearing it at work today!

When I learned to knit back in August, my goal was to be able to knit cute sweaters and cardigans. A lady at a yarn shop told me that after I had 1 year of knitting under my belt I would be ready to tackle sweaters.  I decided NOT to listen to her and just go for it.

I’m happy to say it all worked out pretty well.  Obviously the sweater is far from perfect and I could spend pages pointing out all the little mistakes but it looks pretty good  in person and even better in photos.

The sweater is knit flat and then seamed together(i.e., I knitted the front, back and sleeves separately and then sewed them together).  At the time when I was picking what sweater would be my first attempt, I had only ever knit 1 thing in the round and I was worried it would be too hard.

Also, I was just in love with this sweater pattern and really wanted to make it.  It came together rather quickly. I believe I started it on January 5th or 6th and had the individual components knitted by February 1st.  The original pattern had long sleeves but I am not a huge fan of long sleeves(I end up pushing/rolling them up because I get hot easily), so I changed it to 3/4 sleeve.  But then I wasn’t sure how they would look with the sweater so I kind of set it to the side and didn’t add the sleeves.

Yesterday I wanted to start knitting my second sweater(which is knitted in the round so it will be seamless) and told myself I needed to go ahead and finish this sweater before I started my second.

So, at long last, my very first hand knitted sweater(the pattern is the Esme Jumper by Kari-Helene Rane, on Ravelry):

myfirstsweater-1

The back view:myfirstsweater-1-5Close up of the front:

myfirstsweater-1-4

{Sweater: knit by Me, Belt: Kate Spade, Skirt: Express, Tights: Kohls, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

The yarn I used is a wool/cashmere blend that is solo soft and fun to work with. I’ve previously used it to make my mother-in-law and grandmother scarves with.  It was on sale at Joanns.com awhile back so I stocked up on! I have a few more random skeins of this cream as well as a couple of  black.  It’s not enough to make another sweater but I could probably get a scarf or hat out of it…we’ll see!

Enjoy the rest of your day!

-Tamara

17 thoughts on “My First Sweater!

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    Really fantastic – not just that you made it yourself (OMG AWESOME!) but that it is so flattering! It’s so classic – I think the 3/4 sleeves add to the look – and the neckline is amazing, the colour is wonderful, just… wow.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! It’s funny because I ALMOST didn’t add the sleeves because when I would try the sweater on and pull the sleeves “on” to see how they would look together it just looked off. So I let the sweater sit in my sewing room for like 2 weeks and finally told myself, you need to freaking do something with the sweater. I decided to just go for the sleeves because I didn’t really see much use out of a sleeveless sweater…what was I going to do? Wear a cardigan over the sweater? That just seems weird.

  2. Erika says:

    It looks wonderful! I just started to learn how to knit about a month or so ago, and this gives me hope to what I may one day get to make – and perhaps sooner than I thought… Great job, and it is so flattering on you as well. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I knitted probably close to 15 different scarves with all varying types of stitches so I was pretty comfortable working through this pattern. I definitely had to google a couple of things and logically think through some of the steps, but in the end it worked out pretty well and I’ve already started on another sweater(this one is knit in the round though, so that’s an entirely different ball game).

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!! I can’t take full credit for the styling. The pattern’s author paired her version with a pencil skirt and a ribbon tied around her waist so I just made it my own with my leather bow belt.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! One of my employees commented that they liked it and when I told her I had knitted it, she didn’t believe me….I had to show her some pics I took of the front part while I was knitting it for her to believe me.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I had spent a ton of time knitting other pieces(scarves and cowls) and knew all the different stitches the pattern called for so I figured I might as well try it! If it didn’t work out, I could always undo it and save the yarn for a later time.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I don’t know if I’m a fast knitter or if I just have a lot of free time? I do know that I knit whenever I can…when I’m watching tv at night, on my lunch break, between patients if I have a not so busy schedule. I have definitely been knitting more than sewing lately so that probably has helped me complete so much stuff!

  3. heidi says:

    this is so amazing, tamara, i’m so impressed! the sweater is so flattering and i love all of the details – the cabling down the front, the 3/4 sleeves, the peplum! amazing!

Leave a Reply

