Outfit Changes

We had a snow/ice day yesterday so I had an unexpected day off from work.  I’m certain you Northerners were/are laughing at us Southerners shutting everything down for a dusting of snow/ice.  The thing is, Southern states are just not equipped for this kind of weather.  We don’t have the capabilities to deal with ice/snow on the roads and people don’t know how to drive in it either.

It’s kind of like when heat waves strike Northern states, we Southerners are laughing because we have heat like that every day for months on end.  Or people freaking out about driving in the rain to people from Florida.  When you learn to drive in Florida, rain just doesn’t scare you

Anyways, I was actually pretty bored yesterday.  I tend to be a huge homebody who never wants to leave the house, but of course since I was forced to stay home(lots of roads/overpasses were closed) I wanted to leave.   I did some sewing and knitting and hung out with hubby who was also off(his normal day off though not because of the storm).

I have finished the back and the front of my sweater, as well as 1 sleeve.  Here’s a sneak peak at the front of the sweater:

IMG_4641

I haven’t blocked it or woven in the loose ends yet, but you can definitely see what it will be like eventually!

The crazy thing about all this is that it’s going to be in the high 70s on Sunday.  Yup, welcome to winter in the South, where you can stay home from work due to an ice storm but be back at the beach a few days later.

Anyways, it’s still pretty chilly today so I wanted to be warm.  I don’t know if this is strictly a Southern thing(having not lived north of North Carolina since becoming an adult with a real job), but even when it’s freezing out I end up getting really hot at work and having to slowly peel off my layers, revealing slightly different outfits each time.  Maybe I’m just hot natured, but I can almost guarantee that an outfit that feels perfectly comfortable at home before work will be too hot by the time lunch rolls around.

I think part of the issue is, we get to work and the office is chilly so the heater gets cranked on and my office/exam rooms are the hottest part of the office to begin with so it doesn’t take much to get them to summer levels of heat.

Anyways, I figured I’d show you the typical changes my outfit will most likely go through today as I get warmer and warmer.  PS-my bangs are all gnarly in these pictures so be warned.

outfitchanges-1

The next stage will involve rolling up my sleeves, because my arms always seem to get hottest first.

outfitchanges-1-3

When that gets too hot, I will be removing the sweater.  If I get REALLY hot, then I will take off the tights too.

outfitchanges-1-2

{Blouse: Express, Sweater: Gap, Skirt: Made by Me, Tights: TJ Maxx, Shoes: Goodwill, Necklace: Etsy}

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “Outfit Changes

  1. dragonflyzia says:

    Speaking as a northerner….I wasn’t laughing. As a parent I was freaking out for those kids who had to sleep at school….on the floor. It doesn’t matter what “wheel drive” your car is …ice is ice and it sucks! Your knitting skills are amazing, you have such a knack. Stay warm 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    Never again will I complain about our hot and muggy Tampa weather…. Not until of course the first heat blast of the Summer in which all bets are very much off. My desire to get all decked out in winter clothes is effectively over. Sunny days to resume at the weekend apparently.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Haha…I know right? I definitely don’t need to live somewhere where it is constantly cold, but I’m sure on the first 90+ day I’ll be complaining about the heat.

Leave a Reply

