Boss Lady

So I ran a half-marathon on Saturday.  I didn’t mention it very much because I started feeling very superstitious about the whole thing.  

I was NOT an athletic child by any stretch of the imagination.  I actively avoided any physical activity outside of biking and hiking with my dad.  In my 20s I decided to take up running. I am not a natural runner.  My pace was very slow when I started and I’ve had to work hard to bring it down into the low 9’s.  I also tend towards tons of injuries even on minimal running.  I’ve had shin splints and a stress fracture, achilles tendonitis and iliotibial band syndrome.  

I’ve had my running form evaluated and it’s good so I’m not sure why I get to injured.  

Anyways, I don’t LOVE running but I do occasionally enjoy it.  More than anything I like that it is something my dad and I do together.  It’s our “thing”.  

Back in September/October my uncle let us know that he was planning on running the Charleston Marathon in January and invited us to come up and see him run.  Dad and I looked at the course and after realizing that the Marathon/Half-Marathon stayed together for 10.5 miles, decided it would be fun to train for it and run the half while my uncle ran the full.  At the time, my uncle was running a similar pace to us and planned to run at a pace that would’ve been quite comfortable for us.  

We started training but life stuff, injuries/ect prevented me from getting as much mileage as I wanted.  Even still, my pace had improved so much that I conceivably could have obtained a HUGE PR.  On the other hand, the likelihood of injury loomed high in my mind.  So, I just decided not to really mention the race. 

What if I talked about it a bunch then got injured and couldn’t run?  What if I got sick?  What if I finished it but at a crappy time?

I did manage to finish the race, but just barely.  I definitely didn’t do as well as I wanted, but I did much better than I’ve ever done so there’s that….My uncle ended up going way faster than us, so we didn’t get to run with him at all.  My dad slowed down around mile 5, so for more than half of the race I was alone(which sucked).  It was very cold and VERY windy and a fairly boring course so I really did NOT enjoy myself.  

My calves were really bothering me from about mile 6 onward, so I had to stop at least 4 times to stretch.  I ended up with a 2:10 chip time(which is a 5 minute PR) and a 2:05 on my garmin(I stopped it when I stretched), so when I was running, I was doing a 9:32 pace, which is right were I had originally planned to be…I just kind of hoped that I’d go slightly faster and get a sub-2 hour(on my garmin, not chipped time).  

My uncle had a bad race too so at least I know it wasn’t just me!

After the race we headed back to Savannah and hubby and I spent the evening with my parents and sister and her husband(who had come down from S. Carolina).  I was going to go home Sunday morning, but ended up staying all day knitting and hanging out.  

It was definitely a great weekend.  

I was kind of inspired by a pin on pinterest for todays look.  I saw a pin where someone had worn a scarf with a button-down almost like a “tie” and paired it with a blazer.  I figured I could do something similar, and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out.  I definitely feel like I’m giving off the whole “boss-lady” vibe with this outfit(though I’m not really a boss of anyone so it’s all in my head obviously).  

bosslady-1

 

{Blouse: Goodwill, Blazer: Gap, Skirt: Target, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Scarf: Made by Mom}

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Boss Lady

  1. TheGreatZambini says:

    You did the impossible! Yay! But you may want to use some vitamin D and calcium to shore up those bones so they don’t break so much. That’s probably the biggest thing holding back your time. And get really good running shoes, just because you are pretty awesome 🙂 I mean, look at that blazer scarf combo! Awesome!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Aw…thanks!!! I did get my running shoes fitted by a “professional” so hopefully soon I’ll be having more successful runs.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Haha…running isn’t that much fun for me, but somehow I keep up with it just because there are those illusive days where you have a great run and feel fantastic. Also, running with my dad is kind of our “thing” so I keep on trucking. I’m just hoping that hideous race last week will mean a good race next time.

Leave a Reply

