On Slowing Down

I started this blog back in July 2011.  That seems like AGES ago.  Through this blog, I’ve really been able to hone my style and discover what works for me and what is most flattering.

I’ve also found myself wanting to continually buy more and more clothing and accessories to feature on the blog.  It kind of started to get out of control before I reigned it in last year.  I think it’s very hard to have a fashion blog and not feel like you constantly need new stuff.  I mean, not only are you wanting new pieces to make new outfits, you are also probably reading lots of fashion blogs and seeing other bloggers constantly get new stuff.

As I’ve moved away from constant consumption of fashionable goods and moved more towards making my own pieces, I’ve definitely had to be more creative with my wardrobe.  Obviously I have a HUGE wardrobe still, but after blogging outfits approximately 5 days a week for 2.5 years, you start running low on different options.  I see no point in re-blogging about an outfit I’ve already featured on the blog, so I end up feeling the pressure to put together a completely new outfit every day.

There is also a lot of self-imposed pressure to make sure my hair and makeup look good/perfect each day.  To me, my outfit can be fantastic but if my hair looks ratty or off, it can totally ruin the look.  I guess that’s why there are some bloggers who don’t feature their head/face so they don’t have to deal with this.

All of these things make me think that maybe it’s time to slow down on blogging.  Not quit or anything like that yet, but not have so much pressure on myself to post 5 days a week every week.  I’m thinking about cutting back to 2-3 outfits per week.  That gives me “free” days for re-wearing old outfits and for days when my hair just won’t cooperate.  It also allows me to only put the best outfits on the blog, instead of trying to post every outfit whether it’s really blog-worthy or not.

I will still continue to post my sewing and knitting projects as I finish them.

Anyways, on that note, I have a cute outfit to present today(or at least I think it’s cute).  I’m also presenting my choppy haircut in all it’s glory(i.e., not half pulled back to hide the short choppy front layers).  I washed and dried it myself then styled it with my flat iron today and I think it looks loads better than it did after the cut.  I’ve pretty much decided to get it cut again to the shorter layers length because I dislike how thin and stringy the bottom looks.  I just feel like it looks like I have two different hair cuts going on…or short chin length hair that I tried to make look longer with badly blended extensions.  I know, first world problems right?

slowing down-1

{Blouse/Striped Shirt: Goodwill, Skirt: WHBM, Tights: TJ Maxx, Shoes: Urbanog.com, Necklace: Etsy}

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “On Slowing Down

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    Is your hair not quite straight and not quite curly? Do you have a lot of hair (eg it is more likely a given hair item isn’t big enough vs is too big)?

    I ask because that’s MY hair, and I have EXACTLY the same problem with layered cuts, which are what I prefer to manage all that hair. The only way to get all the layers to blend properly is to have the stylist razor through the ends… depending on the stylist, that can also lead to more flyaways. And depending on the stylist, they don’t know how to execute the blending well either. Sigh.

    But if you hadn’t mentioned it, I wouldn’t have noticed it. You look lovely, as usual! 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You have described my hair exactly. It’s very thick and coarse with a slight wave. It will never be completely straight, even when I flat iron it(the back still curls) so that is why I mostly curl it.

      It’s not that the cut was necessarily a bad cut per se but it just wasn’t anywhere near what I wanted. I felt so out of place in that hair cut and I knew it would constantly drive me nuts worrying that the ends look too thin and raggedy. The manager of my office is also a trained hair stylist, so she has already cut my hair during lunch today. It’s now chin length and lightly layered. I plan to style it with loose curls most days and she’ll keep it trimmed and neat as it grows to the length I want(which is around collarbone length). I think it should be exactly how I want it by late summer.

      • Anne-Marie says:

        It can really be a challenge to manage the volume, can’t it? I pull it back into a ponytail FAR too often – I try harder for work, but I refuse to wash it more than 2x weekly as it takes forever to dry. And even after a big effort, sometimes the style just falls out by mid-morning due to the weight of my hair. Sometimes product works wonders, until I go to sleep and wake up with the fabulous hairstyle on just one side. The other side is flat and will not be resurrected. And my hair is just barely longer than the long layers in the photo today! On the other hand, I love the versatility of ‘our’ kind of hair! I also love that if I need to go low-maintenance, it looks pretty good!

  2. heidi says:

    i totally see where you’re coming from with your insight toward blogging and how you want to move forward. it seems like almost all of my favorite bloggers are having these thoughts, trying to figure out where they want their blogs to go, etc… me included! hopefully some restructuring will relieve some pressure. i’m so glad to hear that you aren’t going anywhere. i love your style, your posts, and your sewing projects too much!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m glad you’re sticking around too! With Whitney leaving, I feel like I have to hang onto my core group as tightly as possible

  3. Erika says:

    I am also glad you are sticking around. I do enjoy your blog and your personal style. I have learned so much about my own style just by finding other style blogs that I like. I can understand where you are coming from, posting almost daily seems like it would take its toll.

Leave a Reply

