The Ubiquitous First Post of 2014

Happy New Year!!

Did you stay up till midnight?  I was in bed at 9:30 and asleep by 10, and it felt fabulous.  Woke up to chilly, rainy weather yesterday morning, so I bagged the long run I had planned, and instead finished up my last scarf gift.

It was a doublet knit cowl for my best friend.  I had originally intended it to be a scarf, but it was taking soooo long to even get it to cowl length(plus is was too wide for my taste) I decided to just seam the ends together and be done.

It’s striped on one side and houndstooth on the other.  Double knitting is really cool because then you end up with a double sided garment(that’s also extra warm), but it takes for-freaking-ever.  First off, you’re knitting both sides at once, so you’re basically knitting two scarves at the same time, PLUS the yarn is continually getting twisted, so you have stop and unwind your colors every other row or so.  I started this beast back around Thanksgiving and have been working on it on/off since.

houndstooth1

houndstooth

After hubby got up, we showered and got ready to head over to our best friend’s house in the country.  We stopped along the way and did some shopping at Hobby Lobby.  Hubby had never been and he was enthralled with all the cool stuff they have there.

The day flew by as we enjoyed a relaxing late breakfast, long walk, looking at wedding pictures and just hanging out. Hubby got to shoot a gun for the first time in his life.  I could have as well, but my neck’s been really hurting so I didn’t want to strain the muscle that was already so sore.

In honor of my first double knit+two color houndstooth project, I decided to wear my houndstooth wool/silk blend dress I made last year with my bow sweater.  Bows+houndstooth+lace=one pretty and stylish outfit in my book.

newyears-1

{Dress: Made by Me, Sweater: Loft, Tights: Kohls, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

So…I am getting ready to start knitting my first sweater(what?!).  I have picked the pattern(it’s a nice 3/4 sleeve with both lace and cable detailing so I won’t get bored…I hope) and knitted the test swatch.  I’m using some gorgeous yarn I got on clearance at Tuesday Morning.  It’s an Angora wool blend that usually sells for $30/skein(I got it for $12).  It’s SUPER soft.  I hope I can finish this thing without tearing my hair out….

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

