Back on Track

Well, I am back from my whirlwind trip.  For those that missed it, my grandmother passed away last week.  Her viewing was on Friday with the funeral Saturday.

We also had a wedding to attend on Wednesday.  None of these events took place anywhere near where we live so we were traveling quite a bit over the past week.

The wedding was in Atlanta on Wednesday, so we packed up the car Tuesday night and headed off to Atlanta early Wednesday morning(with the girls because my parents normally watch them for us, but since they were at the funeral too, we had to bring the pups with us).  I helped the bride get ready(I also made her dress!) while hubby hung out with the groom.  It was a small ceremony of just us and the bride/groom plus photographer and pastor, but it was a beautiful ceremony and the couple looked gorgeous.

IMG_2635

After a nice meal with the bride and groom, we  got back in the car and made our way through the mountains of Tennessee, finally arriving in Louisville around 10pm.  It was definitely hilarious to see the girls experience snow for the first time!

We crashed pretty hard core and slept in(which never happens for me so you know I was tired).

On Thursday, we got up and headed over to my grandpa’s house.  After breakfast, dad and I went on an 8 mile run in 15* weather through ice and snow.  I ate pavement one time around mile 5 but I finished the run in a pretty good pace, considering how many hills we went up/down.  We spent the rest of the day driving around Louisville showing hubby mom and dad’s first house, the hospital where I was born and all the other cool parts of town.

Friday was the viewing, which took up most of the day.  It was rough but we made it through. It was awesome to see a lot of people I haven’t seen in YEARS and talk to people who knew me when I was a baby.  The best part of the day was when my aunt, uncle and cousin on my dad’s side(my maternal grandma was the one who passed away)  showed up.  I was NOT expecting them so it was a great treat to see them.  It meant so much to my grandpa that they made the trip over from Cincinnati.  He talked about it all night.

Saturday was the funeral, which was full of tears but also good memories and laughter. I have to say, throughout the whole weekend, we probably laughed as much or even more than we cried.

We headed back home yesterday morning, stopping by to see my other grandparents along the way.  It was a much better drive than the one up to Louisville(we went up through Atlanta which takes you through Chattanooga and Nashville, but back home through Knoxville and Asheville) and I was very glad to sleep in my own bed last night.

I’m definitely feeling tired and a bit draggy this morning though!  I told hubby last night that I don’t want to do any more traveling for awhile!  It was quite the production moving everything from the hotel to grandpa’s house everyday…we had our four girls plus their cage and all their “stuff”(food, leashes, ect) plus us and anything we would need throughout the day.  Our room was on the third floor with no elevator….needless to say, we took a lot of trips up and down those stairs.

I thought about not bothering to post an outfit today, but then I figured today was as good of a day as any to get back into it.  My bangs have been driving my bonkers which is why I’ve pinned them back.  I don’t think it’s the most flattering look but I just couldn’t deal with them today.

back on track-1-2

{Dress: Made by Me, Cardigan: Banana Republic, Scarf: Beall’s Outlet, Tights: Kohls, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

Tomorrow we are taking a picture at work for the local magazine, so I have to figure out how to get my bangs under control as well as decide on a good outfit…..yikes!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. justbeingbre says:

    So cool that you made that wedding dress!
    Seems like you’ve had a bitter-sweet week or so.
    Good luck with your bangs 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      yes, definitely very bitter-sweet. Hubby said all we needed to do was to go see a newborn baby and we would’ve been a part of all the major life events in one weekend.

Leave a Reply

