I don’t even know where to start with this post, so I’ll just say it: My grandma passed away yesterday morning.

I consider myself extremely blessed because this was my first grandparent to die and I’m nearly 32.  Most people have lost at least one or sometimes all their grandparents by my age.  I am also very blessed to have had such a wonderful, loving and amazing grandma for all these years.

I was not nearly as close to her as I am to my other grandma, and that sort of makes me feel bad.  They lived far away and we didn’t get to see them very often.

She was very sick with Alzheimer’s and kidney failure, so it was a mercy for her to pass when she did.  She was no longer herself.

She is now in heaven with her little boy, her parents, her brothers and with all those who have gone before. She no longer feels pain or has memory loss.  She is at peace.

I do not feel sorrow for myself.  Sure, I will miss her, but I am so happy that she is in a better place.  I feel sorrow for my mom and my aunt who have lost their mom..and most of all for my Grandpa who has lost his wife of almost 60 years.

It felt wrong/crass to do an outfit post  and mention all this as if it were just an aside….so, I am giving it it’s own post. I’m not sure when I will get back to posting outfits….maybe tomorrow.  We shall see. We are making out plan to travel to Kentucky for the funeral.  I also have my best friend’s wedding to attend in Atlanta on Wednesday. It’s going to be a busy week.

“Is that you I hear laughing loud, calling out to me, saying ‘See, It’s everything He said that it would be, and even better than you would believe. And I’m counting down the days until you’re here with me and finally, you’ll see”-SCC, “See”

-Tamara

 

5 thoughts on “

  1. Louise beckett says:

    Death is such a part of life but difficult for us to accept. Change is inevitable though we would like things to stay the same. You have.honored your grandma in a special way. She would love your tribute to her. Her love for you was unconditional…great memories even if somewhat scarce

  2. kittehluvs says:

    I’m really sorry to hear that Tamara. She is in a better place now, like you said, where she doesn’t feel pain or suffer. When my grandparents passed, I was very sad because I’d never get to see them again, but at the same time I didn’t want them to suffer any more either. Anyway, hugs to you.

  3. dragonflyzia says:

    I am very sorry for your loss, it is never easy to lose someone you love. You are right it will be hardest on your mom and aunt, losing your mother is one of the hardest things to go through. Hang in there…Zia

Leave a Reply

