Halloween 2013

Happy Halloween Everyone!

Like most fashion bloggers, Halloween is one of my most favorite Holidays because I LOVE To dress up.  I’m so happy to be working at an office that allows/encourages us to dress up(as long as it’s appropriate of course).  This year, we planned ahead and decided that we wanted to a poodle skirt/50’s theme for our office.  I had the girls all pick out what fabrics they wanted and I made everyone circle skirts and neckerchiefs.

I went the easy route and made the skirts elastic waist, which save me time and money on not having to insert a zipper.

I tried to find some white keds that I could color in to make them saddle shoe-like, but alas I was unable to find such a thing(also I barely looked..which is probably more the reason why I couldn’t find them).

Halloween really snuck up on me this year.  I’m keeping so busy working on all the Christmas gifts I’m making that I didn’t put the effort into my own personal costume this year that normally I would have(I didn’t even hem the lining of my skirt…oh the horrors…don’t worry, I made sure the ones I made for my other staff were full hemmed haha)

 

halloween2013 (1 of 1)-3

halloween2013 (1 of 1)

halloween2013 (1 of 1)-2

Ps-I made those letters in the background!  Do you dress up for work?

We’re being halloween grinches tonight and not handing out candy.  Hubby just didn’t want to deal with the expense plus the constant ringing of the doorbell.  We’re going to be closing al the blinds and turning off lights so we look like we’re not home.  I still feel that the dogs will be barking like crazy and it will be annoying…..

-Tamara

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween 2013

  1. Andi says:

    These skirts are so cute, and I totally want that polka dot one for regular wear! People at my office don’t really dress up, but sometimes they bring their kids in to trick or treat around the office, so I brought candy to work. I think I’m going to pretend not to be home tonight, too. It’s just annoying to have the doorbell going all night, and most of the kids we got last year weren’t very nice.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      we got a lot of kids that were obviously in their late teens or even older or parents with young infants collecting candy(obviously for themselves). I dont mind when its a mentally handicapped person who doesnt understand theyre not 8 anymore(I have an elderly patient who has the mind of a 9 year old and she told me shes going trick or treatingthats cute to me), but when youre an adult who is just out to get free candycome on now.

      We put a gate up in the door so that the dogs wouldnt run out but they could see the kids and the kids could see them. Well, a lot of parents came up to the door to see the dogs, smoking cigarettes which filled our house with smoke smell. Ugh.

      I totally love the polka dot one too! She did such a good job picking out that fabric, I was JUST telling her that Im probably going to have to order some more of that fabric to make myself a polka dot one.

Leave a Reply

