Turbulent and Vivacious

literate & stylish

This past spring I participated in a link up with Marissa and Heidi using some of Pantone’s Spring colors.  This fall they are at it again with a new link-up based on some of the new fall colors.  It started yesterday but I didn’t get a chance to even think about it till this morning so I figured why not combine two days into one?

It worked out really well because today’s color, turbulence, is a soft grey that just happens to pair exceptionally well with Monday’s bright magenta(otherwise known as Vivacious).

I’m not 100% sold on this outfit though.  It’s not a bad outfit per se but it’s just not very exciting.  It’s definitely not one of those outfits where people will stop me on the street to tell me they like my look(which actually does occasionally happen).

turbulent-1

{Blouse: Banana Republic, Skirt: JC Penney, Cardigan: J. Crew Outlet, Shoes: Ross}

Happy Tuesday!

-Tamara

 

8 thoughts on “Turbulent and Vivacious

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    It’s tasteful and classic, which ofc is always nice. But you’re right – it’s missing the ‘punch’ you usually add!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You’re definitely correctbut I’m not really sure what I could’ve done differently to make it more “fun”. Oh well, I guess we all need boring clothing days right?

  2. The Modern Austen (@TheModernAusten) says:

    I often feel like this–that my outfits are missing “something,” and I think a lot of it is a by-product of being a “fashion blogger” and overanalyzing outfits. Sometimes an understated outfit is just as special as one with a wow factor. That being said, your outfit is really classy and pretty and I love that you combined both vivacious and turbulence. If you wanted to add a bit of a punch, like you normally do in your outfits, maybe a bright skinny belt would do the trick?

    On a side note, your glasses bracelet is to. die. for. Love it! Thanks for linking up with us 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I would have loved to have a coordinating beltI did think about that, but I didn’t have any belts that would’ve worked unfortunatelymaybe next time!

      I do agree that as a fashion blogger you feel like you have to hold yourself to a higher standard and that every outfit should be amazing but sometimes simple can be okay.

      I got a lot of attention for the bracelet this past weekend at my CE conference haha! My mom said Kate Spade should’ve set up a booth selling the eyeglass jewelry at this conferencethey’d have made a killing!

  3. Ana says:

    I was also going to comment on your eyeglasses bracelet! It is just precious! I think your outfit is great for work and it can be hard to “punch it up” when you don’t really want to call attention to yourself. I might have added some bright jewelry (maybe fun earrings or a bright bangle) or slipped on a brighter cardigan for drinks after work. But your gorgeous red hair is punch enough for most days!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Aww…thanks! I agree with the bright cardigan idea…that would’ve been fantastic. I also would have liked to have a bright belt that would’ve coordinated with my shoes, but alas I own no such item.

  4. heidi says:

    thanks for joining us during our link up, tamara! i love the color and texture of your blouse, how pretty! whenever i dress in all neutrals (or mostly neutrals), i tend to feel like my outfits are missing something too. maybe that’s why i dress in so much color + prints, because they’re naturally visually interesting. i think you look classy and professional though so hopefully your outfit didn’t get you too down throughout the day.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Honestly, once I posted my outfit I didn’t think anymore about it. I guess I just always feel that I have to “justify” less than perfect outfits on my blog so people “know” that I “know” they aren’t perfect. I’m not sure why I have this compulsion but I do. I’m certain I am not the only one!

Leave a Reply

