The September Dress

Nothing like waiting till the end of the month to debut my September dress eh?  Believe it or not, I actually have had the dress finished since the second week of September but I was waiting for an “occasion” to wear it.  I have  a work dinner thing tonight so I figured why not save my new dress for that?

The pattern is the Cambie from Sewaholic patterns in a red cotton sateen.  I know that some seamstresses don’t like sateen but I freaking love it.  It has a bit of a stretch to it so it’s comfortable but it’s heavier and beefier than straight cotton.  I just think it looks more expensive than it is, but it’s durable and a workhorse fabric at the same time.

I had a bit of a fitting issue with this dress…I made two bodice muslins, first in a size 6 as that’s what my measurements called for but was too big, and then in a size 4(which is ultimately what size I made the dress in).  Neither muslin showed the issue that came up in the dress, so I’m not sure where I went wrong/what I did, but luckily I was able to fix it.  I’m really glad too, because this dress is SO comfortable, so flattering and just adorable.

theseptemberdress-1-2

So I finished the dress completely and went to try it on and I noticed the back neckline was gaping pretty badly.

IMG_2501

At first I didn’t know what I could do to fix it. I was so disappointed because I had such high hopes for this dress.  I put the dress aside for a few days before I realized, DUH, just add a few darts.

IMG_2505 IMG_2506

Big different right?

After adding a hook/eye at the top of the zipper, the neckline lays perfectly flat, but unfortunately I can’t show you as the picture seems to not want to upload no matter what I do.

I used an invisible zipper per my usual(excuse the yellow string hanging off the back of the skirt).

theseptemberdress-1-3

I used the same red striped lining that I used on the mustard skirt and the March dress.  I used the cotton sateen for the inner waistband and the lining of the front shoulder/sleeve piece.

IMG_2528

I used my own dirndl skirt pattern because the one that comes with the dress used too much fabric.  Of course there are pockets:

theseptemberdress-1-5

theseptemberdress-1

Don’t you just LOVE my eyeglass bracelet?  I have been wanting this bracelet for at least 6 months(it’s from Kate Spade), but I didn’t want to pay full price.  I kept waiting  but it never seemed to go on sale….then last week I received a coupon for 20% off full-priced items.  By sheer coincidence that same day I did an optometric survey with a cash stipend type thing that was more than enough to cover the cost of the bracelet.  I’m pretty sure you’ll be seeing this bracelet almost daily!

-Tamara

7 thoughts on “The September Dress

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! I’m loving your blog…I have to tell my sister and mom about it because they are really into all those DIY home projects.

      • Average But Inspired says:

        Oh thank you. That is really sweet of you. 🙂
        I wish I could look as good as you each day!
        Have a good one. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      awww…thanks! wait till you see the October dress. I’m pretty certain that it will definitely be the crowd favorite for the year.

  1. nonsensicalmadrigal says:

    You make me so jealous with how talented you are! You make such beautiful clothes and you look adorable wearing them!
    (Awesome and fitting bracelet, too!)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I honestly would’ve said the same thing about other sewing bloggers just a few years ago. It’s amazing how quickly you start to catch on with sewing when you spend all your time doing it…haha

Leave a Reply

