Nautical+Navy

Remember when I made the August Dress I told you I had enough material left to make a blouse as well?  Well, I made that blouse last week using the Jasmine Pattern from Colette Patterns.

The shirt is cut on the bias so you don’t have to do any zippers or buttons which is nice.   I used the size zero pattern(based on the what it said the final measurements would be) and it fits basically almost perfectly.  The only issue I had was the cuffs on the sleeves were way too small for my arms(and I don’t have very big arms), so I drafted my own and pleated the sleeve instead of gathering it.  I made bias tape out of the trim to finish the lower edge, but it didn’t go so well and it looks a little messy…but I don’t really plan on wearing the shirt un-tucked anyways so I’m not too worried about it.

navy-1-3

I also finally made a navy pencil skirt.  I say finally because I’ve had the material for over a year at this point.  I can’t believe I waited so long to make this skirt!  I absolutely adore it.  I had to play around with the fit(and I even took it in last night after wearing it all day and realizing it was too big in the waist), but now I know all the little tricks to make this skirt again and have it fit perfectly(or at least what I perceive as perfect).

I’m really happy with how it turned out because I’ve tried and failed at making a pencil skirt several times since I started sewing.   One of my very first sewing failures was a zebra print pencil skirt.  Until this skirt, I just never got the fit quite right.  They were either too small or too big in the waist but fit the thighs.

The material is a double knit ponte  and it is just delightful.  It feels like yoga pants, but looks quite nice.  When I walked into the room wearing the skirt to show it off to hubby, he couldn’t believe I had made it.  He thought it had to be store bought.  The pattern doesn’t call for a lining; just facings, but I created my own lining by tracing the front and back pieces of the skirt once I had them constructed.  I then attached the facings to the linings.

navy-1-6

 

I used my new favorite…the invisible zipper for the closure!

I used a pencil skirt I already own and like the fit of to gauge what changes to make to the pattern.  As I mentioned earlier, the waist was a big big and after wearing it work yesterday, I decided to take it in.  I took 1.5″ off each of the back panels and tapered them down so as not to change the fit at the thighs.  I had to re-work the waistband facing/lining a bit but I’m so happy with the fit, I don’t care if it’s no longer absolutely perfect on the inside.

In total, from cutting out the pattern to the skirt being ready to wear, it probably only took about 2-3 hours of work which is awesome.  I’ve already cut out the pieces to make the pattern again in a mustard suiting fabric.  I would’ve started sewing on it last night, but I realized I didn’t have any coordinating thread!

The skirt has different option for the lower back piece.  For this skirt, I opted to make the little flounce because I thought it was cute(for the mustard version it will be a pleated piece).

navy-1-7

navy-1-8

navy-1-4

{Blouse/Skirt: Made by Me, Belt: WHBM, Shoes: Limited}

I’m SO EXCITED to have a plain navy skirt to add to my wardrobe.  I think it will really expand my clothing options.  Now to finish off all the other pencil skirts I’ve been planning on for months.

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Nautical+Navy

  1. heidi says:

    you are just a sewing wiz! i love my navy skirt (thrifted, sadly, not homemade) and i feel like i wear it at least once a week. i am sure you will get just as much wear out of yours! and that top is just darling… i love the length of the sleeves and the bow!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I seriously can’t believe I waited so long to make a navy skirt. Navy is seriously one of my favorite “neutral/base” colors. I feel like I practically have a new wardrobe just because of this skirt.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! Unfortunately the old adage of pride goes before a fall is true….I tried to replicate this skirt in a mustard suiting fabric and somehow it’s too small???!!! I think I’ll be able to salvage it but ugh, I thought I had finally perfected my pencil skirt pattern. Oh well, always learning!

  2. DMgirl says:

    They both look great! You definitely ARE talented!! I am going to try and make a shirt I want on the bias, because I don’t like zippers on shirts. And I am kind of intimidated with a current, to-be-started project because of the invisible zipper. I hope they will get to be a new favorite for me also, because they are so much nicer looking than regular zippers.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      With my old sewing machine I didn’t have a dedicated invisible zipper foot(I had to use that generic plastic one) and I didn’t really like doing them, but my new machine has an invisible zipper foot and it is seriously SO EASY to do. Invisible zippers on my machine are the easiest type of zipper to do. I also love that they are “stitchless” looking even in the lining.

      The only issue for me with bias cut things are the hems…ugh. I just hate hemming things in general and taking in the extra ease is the bane of my existence.

Leave a Reply

