Back

So the little tickle/sore throat I mentioned last week turned into a full-fledged sickness.  It’s so weird because I NEVER get sick.  In the 10 years that my hubby and I’ve been together this is only the second time I’ve been legit sick.  Unfortunately I don’t have any paid sick time at work, so I still had to go to work, but I didn’t feel like posting the  outfits(i.e., comfortable and not necessarily fashionable) I was wearing those days.

I finally went to the doctor yesterday and he’s got me on a nice combination of medications so I think I’m returning back to the land of the living…at least enough that I felt like putting on a cute outfit and taking some pictures today(to be 100% honest, I took pictures yesterday too but none of them turned out so I didn’t want to post them).

Despite being sick and sleeping a lot of the weekend, I managed to make a dress start to finish.  It will be the September dress once I decide what day to wear it.  It’s a red sateen version of Sewaholic’s Cambie pattern.  I had some fitting issues with the final dress(even though I made two different muslins that didn’t have issues), but I’ll get into those later when I post the actual dress.

For my “return” to blogging, I wanted something cute and pretty, but still comfortable as I’m still sick(just feeling slightly better).  I did an overnight curl technique with my  hair which looked okay at first, but has morphed into this mass of messiness and frizz…ugh.   I didn’t have time to fix it or do anything else with it(and to honest it didn’t look as bad in the mirror as I’m seeing in the picture)

back-1-2

{Shirt: Target, Cardigan: WHBM, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Back

  1. Andi says:

    Being sick is no fun! I’m sad you had to go to work when you weren’t feeling well! Hopefully you will be back to 100% soon. This outfit is super cute! I’m doing a polka dot theme on my blog this week, so you should come link up on Friday!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I might just have to do that…though I might try to put together a better polka dot outfit(or at least one where my hair is a rival for medusa).

  2. kimmie says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! but really? you don’t get any paid sick time, and you have to go to work when you’re sick? That’s really messed up, and really terrible for patients that you have to see.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Yeah, no paid sick time is an unfortunate reality of lots of doctors….I’m lucky I get 5 days of vacation at this job at least. Before this job, my other offices gave me ZERO benefits. I think next time my contract is up for negotiations, I will try to work out getting a few days of sick time.

      I guess I don’t *HAVE* to go to work when I’m sick…my office managers would understand…but then I don’t get paid and with the way life has been treating us(one financial crisis after another) we need all the money we can get. I do feel bad for the patients, to an extent(that extent being they all come in to see me when they are sick and cough all over me!), but luckily I don’t seem to be contagious because so far, no one I’ve been exposed to has gotten sick yet(including my dad who shared a drink with me the day before I got sick). Plus, I’m able to pretty much fake it while I’m with the patients and other than my scratchy sounding voice I seem ok. Most of my patients just assume I have allergies.

      It’s also been super slow this week so I haven’t had to see too many patients either. But yes, I agree it would be better if I didn’t have to see patients in this condition and more than likely I would probably have gotten better sooner if I had stayed home for a few days….but when you are the primary bread winner it doesn’t leave much room for slack unfortunately.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Being sick any time sucks, but yeah, it’s rough in the summer because it’s so dang hot outside that you never know if you have a fever or you’re just hot!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Yes, skirts really are the best! It’s nice to have that breeze going you know? Plus full skirts are even better because they conceal any…how do you say, figure flaws? 🙂

Leave a Reply

