Easy Neutrals

Man, three day weekends are pretty awesome!  I wouldn’t mind every weekend being three days.  And the best part is yet to come…the 4 day work week that follows.

I spent Saturday and most of Sunday doing my normal weekend chore type things….and then I still got to goof off/hang out Sunday evening and all day Monday!

My original idea for this outfit was just the lace shirt over the dress, but it didn’t look right.  The dress neckline is too sloped and was peaking out on either side of the lace shirt.  As I never like to abandon outfits I’ve picked out, I decided to try layering a black button down under the shirt(but over the dress).

It’s an okay look. I’m not overly impressed with it, but it’s functional and it will get me through the day.

easyneutrals-1-2

{Dress: Banana Republic, Blouse: Target, Lace Shirt: f21, Necklace: NY&Co, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

Last night as I was falling asleep I was thinking about how I’m sick of the way I take my blog pictures.  I want them to be better, but I’m not really sure how to get there.  I know that taking photos outside with natural light is much better, but I don’t know how to facilitate that happening…..I mean, obviously I could you know, go outside but there really isn’t a great spot for me to take my photos unless I set the tripod up on our little slab/back porch and stand in the dog potty area(plus the embarrassment factor if my neighbor’s see me).  I don’t have the time/ability to go out and “find” cool and unique spots to take my pictures either.

I still may attempt to venture outside of the house soon(no promises though).

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “Easy Neutrals

  1. dragonflyzia says:

    Your pictures are just fine….I mostly look at your outfits. My smarty pants daughter said “she should coordinate that outlet with her outfit” a few months ago. I honestly never even noticed it until she said it….and I didn’t want to make you self conscious…..but since you said it first, I guess it’s okay. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is hilarious! I guess I could edit out the outlet…I just never thought about it!! There’s the good/bad thing about newer homes….so many electrical outlets. Seriously, there has to be one every 4 feet or something so there’s literally no place in my house I can take a picture without an electrical outlet somehow visible!!

      I feel torn about my pictures, because I know that most people who read my blog don’t care about the quality, but I also feel like my not so great pictures limit my blog from growing. But on the other hand, that means i don’t really have to deal with trolls or nasty comments because i have a small, nice base of readers. And really, why do I need to grow my blog any bigger? It’s not like I want to monetize it or become a “full-time blogger”(barf).

      I would like “prettier” looking pictures just strictly from an artistic stand point, but I guess until I’m willing to put in more effort to get outside and find time/places to take pictures….my room pictures will have to suffice.

  2. DMgirl says:

    Love those shoes! The outfit is great too, very pretty. I know what you mean about the picture locations, but it sometimes seems hard to get out of the house, or in my case the yard. I am always hoping my neighbor doesn’t see me! 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Haha exactly! I take my pictures in one of our front facing bedrooms and I open the blinds to let in more light and even there I feel self-concious that my neighbors might see!!!

      I actually thought about going outside today but my porch area was all wet and covered in nasty leaves so, yeah….no.

  3. rachelobregon84 says:

    Your pictures are fine. You could always hang a backdrop to spice it up or stand somewhere else. You can filter with your phone app. This may sound lame but one of the main reasons I joined Instagram is because the filters were pretty good. See u at work!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I have thought about a background sheet or something, but that seems like to much work…HAHA…and I don’t use my phone for the pictures…it’s my DSLR with a remote. I’m not sure how one would use the iPhone for full-length body shots?

Leave a Reply

