Purples and Grays

Happy Monday everyone!  I had an unusual, for me, weekend…..Normally my weekends are spent sewing, cooking, cleaning and doing other various chores(unless someone is visiting from out of town or we are out of town ourselves).

Sunday morning we got up and started the day with me going to get groceries and cooking our lunches for the week and hubby getting right to work.  He thought he was supposed to work from 8am-4pm.  He had worked for almost an hour when a supervisor asked him if he had switched shifts…turns out was schedule from 8pm-4am!!!  His mistake was understandable considering his company had just switched from 24 hour time to 12 hour time on the schedule and he didn’t notice the small PM next to the 8.  In addition, they’ve only recently started having overnight shifts so he’s never had to work past 1am before.

Anyways, since he now had the whole day off until 8pm and the weather was forecasted to be unusually cool(the high was only 83 which is about 15 degrees cooler than normal),  we decided we needed to get out and enjoy the day.  We called my parents and asked them if they wanted to get together to do something.

We ended up heading up to Hilton Head and going to the beach.  We are not beach people.  In fact, this was the first time for all of us to go to Hilton Head Beach(we’ve lived here for 3 years; my parents 7) and about 4 years since my last visit to the beach.  We had a fantastic time though.

Hilton Head is a great beach with free parking and tons of restaurants within walking distance.  We played around in the water for about 2 hours(the waves were insane; bigger than I’ve ever personally experienced) then headed off in search of sustenance.  We ended up having a fabulous meal at this really nice cafe and then walking over to Rita’s for dessert(Rita’s is my parents favorite place in the whole world, so it definitely made the trip worth it for them!).

After getting home, hubby and I  crashed out for a bit, then I spent the rest of the evening doing girly stuff like mani/pedi, teeth whitening, deep conditioning treatment for my hair and just relaxing.  It was totally out of character for me(usually I like to have a to-do list a mile long and cross off each item on it during the weekend) but it’s nice every once in awhile to step back and take a break.

Even though I wore sunscreen, I did get a little burned, but I put a lot of coconut oil on my skin last night and this morning my burn is barely noticeable(at least compared to how red it was yesterday).

purples and grays-1

{Blouse: Banana Republic, Cardigan: Target, Skirt: Made by Me, Necklace: NY&Co, Shoes: Payless}

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Purples and Grays

Leave a Reply

