Pattern Play

You guys know(because I’ve told you or you know me in person so you’ve experienced it first hand) that I tend to be a bit stubborn when I get into something.  If I’ve decided I wanted to make something or have something work in a certain way, I tend to go full force until I either get what I was after or the whole thing blows up in a spectacular showing of failure.

I had decided at some point that I wanted to pair my navy/brown polka dot dress with my navy polka dot thrifted bow blouse.  In my original plan, I was just going to use the dress as  skirt with the blouse on top.  There are two main ways to make this kind of look work…you either need some kind of cardigan/blazer or a thick belt to cover your waist where the blouse ends/skirt begins.  I don’t have a belt or cardigan or blazer that would look right, so I thought I’d just wear the blouse as is.  As in, untucked and kind of just hanging there.

patternplay-1

Honestly, I don’t think it’s that bad…but it does feel unfinished.  If I didn’t have this blog, I probably would have worn it as you see above and not thought another thing about it.

I went back and forth on what I could do to improve said outfit, and then I had a thought to try the blouse on underneath the dress….and it turned out great! So far, everyone(including my husband who has seen both the dress and the blouse separately on multiple occasions) has thought it was all one dress/one piece.

patternplay-1-3

{Dress: Limited, Shirt: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic), Shoes: Payless}

Last night I was so tired when I got home from work that I basically did nothing other than fix breakfast for dinner(hubby and I do this at least 1-2x/week) and sit on the couch.  I had no reason to be so tired, and I hate it in a way because I don’t like feeling like I didn’t accomplish anything but sometimes you just need chill time I guess.

Also, I’m over the full fringe bangs apparently as I’ve already started pushing them to the side, haha.

-Tamara

 

7 thoughts on “Pattern Play

  1. Bhavika says:

    That was so clever because it looks amazing! I would never take the risk of doing what you did but I guess it paid off so I may try that to improve my outfits. So cool! 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That’s one benefit of taking outfit pictures/having a blog. I always feel compelled to try new things and present my outfits in a different way than I normally would, and by taking pictures of my outfits I can see if something is working or if it’s a total fail(at least better than I can by just looking in the mirror)

      • Bhavika says:

        That is so true! I felt uncomfortable doing outfit posts on my blog in the beginning but now I want to wear outfits and talk about them because I’m used to it. Blogging can also support your confidence in style! Love it.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Very true. Before I blogged my outfits, I was very boring with what I chose to wear. Black skirt+black cardigan+colored blouse. That was my formula and it was okay but kinda blah. Blogging has really helped me curate my personal style and find what works best for my figure. It’s also helped me improve my makeup application and hair styling, which in turn makes me feel better about myself and I present myself more confidently at work(which is important because I look young for my age and people take me more seriously when I am confident).

      • Bhavika says:

        That’s great! Blogging seems like it has brought many positives to your life. So cool 🙂 and also well deserved because blogging isn’t easy so well done! X

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I can’t claim full credit for the idea. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen other bloggers do it at some point and that’s probably what made me think of it.

Leave a Reply

