Polka Dots and Florals

Hi everyone, how was your weekend?  Mine was great: filled with all the same things I do every weekend!  What can I say?  I like routine and consistency.

I did trim my bangs yesterday and ended up going with a full fringe look(as I’ve done in the past).  It’s not my favorite look, nor do I think it’s the most flattering on me(I prefer the side swept bang), but it’s a nice change and they’ll be grown out to the side swept look in two weeks probably!

I started working on the August dress and I got the dress portion almost completely finished(except for a zipper since I didn’t have a proper one), but I’m not sure I like it.  It looks a little too much like a nightgown or something.  I consulted via pictures with my sister and she and I both agree that it would probably look better with a full skirt(right now it was a slim A-Line type skirt), but I was hoping to have enough fabric leftover to also make a separate top….but if I remake the skirt portion I won’t have enough fabric for a top!

So, right now it’s just hanging on my dress form while I think about what to do with it.

In knitting news, I finished the back/top piece of what will soon be a dog sweater and started the bottom piece last night.  If all goes well, I might have completed my first knitting project this week!

Now for the outfit(which is probably all you’re really here for anyways).

I wanted to pair polka dots with my floral skirt because…why not?

dotsandflorals-1-3

I tend to ALWAYS wear my cardigans unbuttoned in the way you see above and since I try to, whenever possible, do the opposite of what I always do on this blog, I tried the cardigan buttoned up:

dotsandflorals-1-2

{Blouse: Limited, Skirt: WHBM, Cardigan: Ann Taylor, Shoes: Rackroom}

It’s a slightly different look and I do like the change!

I STILL don’t have my car back….it MIGHT be ready this week.  Apparently the body shop keeps finding more and more damage to the car as they progress with the repair. If we don’t have it back by this weekend, we will be forced to rent a car as hubby starts school again on Monday.  Unfortunately we apparently don’t have rental car coverage in our policy so that means we will have to out-of-pocket this expense.  UGH.  At least our insurance company is attempting to collect our deductible from the lady who hit me so we might not have to pay that.

Who would’ve ever thought this much damage could happen to a car sitting in a parking lot?

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “Polka Dots and Florals

  1. Andi says:

    I love the polka dots and floral together! So cute! Also, I really hope your car is fixed soon. It’s so frustrating to deal with car repairs!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It definitely is frustrating. We are lucky though that throughout the pass 5 weeks we haven’t “Needed” a second car because my husband works from home. But next week he starts back taking classes(he’s working on an accounting degree) so we will need that second car next week. I am crossing my fingers that my car will actually be fixed by then. If not, we’re going to rent the cheapest car we can1

  2. dragonflyzia says:

    First only you could pull this off and look lovely. Second I am so jealous, I took a class and haven’t even had a second to try and remember how to knit. I am happy for you but jealous at the same time. I can’t wait to see the sweater though. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Yeah, you really have to practice knitting till you get it down before you take any kinds of breaks. Luckily, when my mom taught me how to cast on and do regular stitches, I had the time to keep practicing that until it became ingrained. Then I went online to learn to purl and cast off, and I just practiced those things as well until they “clicked”. I still struggle a lot and sometimes my stitches are uneven, but I’m getting better! There are tons of free tutorials online for how to knit, so I bet if you ever have some free time if you watched those it would come back to you!

Leave a Reply

