Pink and Polka Dots

This morning I got ready for work and then just before I took my outfit pictures, I sat down and quickly scanned through my blog because I started feeling as if I had worn this outfit before.  As far as I could find, I have not worn this exact outfit before.

Lately, I’ve really been feeling the urge to purge my closet/house of a bunch of stuff.  I mean, we have the room for it, so I’ve always hesitated throwing it out/donating it, but finally I’ve gotten to the breaking point.  I went through my closet and made a huge pile of clothing/shoes I am going to donate to Goodwill.  I know that a lot of you guys sell your old clothes on Ebay/Consignment stores, but I just don’t have the time/energy to do that.

Or rather, I don’t want to spend the time it would take to undertake such a project.

I also colored my hair whilst I was doing said purge(or rather, I put the color on my hair and while it was setting, I purged my closet).  I don’t think it’s very noticeable(the hair) because no on has noticed it yet(even my hubby who knew I was coloring it!).  I liked the subtle ombre look I had, but it was too much maintenance and it faded to almost non-existance after about 2 weeks, so to me it just wasn’t worth the expensive.

My motto is, if I can save money on my hair then I can afford to buy more makeup!

pinkandpolkadots-1-5

{Blouse: Banana Republic Factory, Sweater: Old Navy, Skirt/Necklace: Target, Shoes: Rack Room}

I’ll be honest with you though….I decided to go with comfort today so I ended up changing out the heels for my navy striped flats:

pinkandpolkadots-1-3

I was not nearly as productive this weekend as I was last weekend.  😦  It wasn’t for lack of trying though!  Everything seemed to be working against me.  I had lots of sewing issues(though I did manage to finish a dress/clutch for my sister and a circle skirt for my mom) and I ended up forgetting to put away our dinner leftovers after I had dished them out into individual serving plates so we had to throw away like 4 days worth of lunches(which I HATE doing but it had sat out on the counter for probably 4 hours and was totally unsafe to eat).

IMG_4728

The dress is the Cambie from Sewaholic patterns.  I drafted my own skirt to fit the amount of fabric I had.  I can’t wait to see my sister in the dress!

The dress itself is quite easy to construct.  The instructions are fairly limited though(ie, it assumes you know basic techniques and terminology).  I would say if you are a beginner and you need detailed step by step instructions, you would probably want to skip this dress for now.  However, if you have made a few dresses already and you feel pretty comfortable in your sewing knowledge you could definitely make this dress fairly easily!

IMG_4780

I also made her this little clutch out of leftover fabric.  It’s not my best work(as you can see the stripes don’t like up on the bottom, ugh) but it’s still kinda cute.  There’s a little tab on the side above the bow that she can thread a bracelet through so that she can use it as a wristlet.

Have a great day!

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “Pink and Polka Dots

  1. dragonflyzia says:

    It looks like you accomplished a lot this weekend to me! The dress is really cute…I can’t wait to see the picture that you will post of her in it. 🙂 The dots were a nice touch to the clutch too.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m just hoping that the dress fits. My sister is well endowed in the boob area and most patterns are made for a size B/C but I’ve made her a dress before without doing a full bust adjustment and it fit, so I’m crossing my fingers that this one does too.

Leave a Reply

