Stubbornness vs. Perseverance

At what point does perseverance become sheer stubbornness? I tend towards being very focused and driven and once I latch onto a project or an idea, I keep at it until I complete it.

This can be a really good thing, but it can also lead to lots of frustration and rushing through things when it would be better to step away and get some perspective.

Last night I was working on the lining for one of my car seat cover canopies(say that 5 times fast!), The lining of the canopy is by far the trickiest part of the whole deal.  To be more specific, creating the channels for the supports that hold the canopy in a curve are what is so difficult.  Historically, I’ve been sewing the pieces of the canopy together than attaching a separate piece of fabric on top to create the channel.  This requires sewing a straight piece of fabric down onto a curved piece of fabric and NOT on an edge so you can’t do any notches.

It’s a frustrating process but it’s been manageable thus far.  Well, now I’m working with a new lining fabric that is, just not great.  It’s a bit too flimsy and I hate it.  Unfortunately it’s the lion’s share of my lining fabric so I’m stuck with it for awhile.  Once it’s sewn together and the covers are made, it looks beautiful , but it’s very difficult to work with.

Well, last night I had a total failure on the canopy lining.  I had to throw it away and start over.  Something kept telling me to stop, take a break, and then come back to it.  But no, I wanted to keep on keeping on, so I kept at it.  I made an entirely new lining…it also was a failure.

In utter frustration, I went and took a shower.  While I was in the shower, I thought of a way to make the channel that would save TONS of time and aggravation if it worked.  I’m estimating if this method turns out to work, it will save me about 1 hour on each canopy!  That’s HUGE!

I haven’t yet had a chance to try out my method but it definitely reminded me that sometimes it’s good to step away from things.

I was further reminded of this fact this morning.  I wanted to try out my new method, so I thought if I could get ready really quickly I’d have time to do a test run before work. I planned to do a really quick messy bun up-do with my hair which, in theory, should have saved me lots of time.

Well, I did not have success with the hair the first go around.  So instead of falling back into one of my tried and true hairstyles, I kept messing with it and trying to achieve the original look.  I ended up wasting a bunch of time, my hair still isn’t how I wanted it and I wasn’t able to try out my new lining method.

The point is, sometimes you need to take a break!

My husband’s aunt and uncle are retired and spend each summer traveling up north to volunteer at a National Park.  Usually on their way back to Florida they pass through Savannah and have dinner with us. Tonight we are meeting them for a meal.  I wanted to wear an outfit that incorporated my mustard skirt because they are the ones who gave me the fabric to make said skirt.

I’ve worn the skirt with lots of different colors, so I did a little search on pinterest for inspiration and I saw a mustard skirt similar to mine paired with dark grey and light pink.  I liked how it looked so I decided to give it a try.

Ladylike-1-2  {Blouse: Banana Republic, Cardigan: Limited, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Payless, Bracelet NY&Co}

To be honest, I’m not in love with this outfit.  The lace panel on the blouse ends at a weird position when you tuck in the shirt and the colors don’t coordinate as much as I’d like them to, but it’s not horrible and not every outfit is going to be a winner.  You take the good with the bad!

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Stubbornness vs. Perseverance

  1. Louise beckett says:

    What would it look like without the sweater? I like the blouse with the skirt especially. And your hair is just fine.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      the blouse has a weird neckline, it cuts in right up to the collar making it maybe too much shoulder showing to be appropriate for work plus my bra straps show! I suppose I could wear a strapless bra, but I don’t know if I want to do that all day(strapless bra’s are rather uncomfortable in my opinion).

  2. Ms. Jolly Blogger says:

    cute outfit! I like the color of your skirt. I need to add more of this color to my wardrobe. I usually stray away from anything in the “yellow” category, but this is a nice shade, and it goes really well with the dark gray 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      The benefit of wearing it as a skirt is that even if yellow isn’t your “color” it won’t make your face skin look weird like a yellow top would(my mom looks awful in yellow for some reason so she can’t wear any yellow other than skirts).

  3. Michelle says:

    I would swap the shoes and rock that outfit with a nude mule or slingback shoe. Everything else works nicely.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Funnily enough, I did have on nude peep toe pumps originally and decided I wanted to make it a bit more dramatic with the floral ones! But I do like the idea of nude shoes with it.

Leave a Reply

