The July Dress/Nautical Day #5

Continuing with the challenge I started back at the beginning of the year, I am now presenting you with the July Dress.  This is probably the most frustrating dress I have made thus far.  It was a super easy pattern, but the material was a pain to work with and I just made a lot of errors in making it.  I honestly thought I wouldn’t have enough fabric to make it after a few of my errors.

Screen shot 2012-01-16 at 2.12.03 PM

I had found this picture(I don’t remember where I found the picture, but I think it was Neimen Marcus) back around Christmas time and I had saved it as an inspiration for a dress.  I used some of my Christmas money to buy navy and cream silk taffeta fabrics that I had intended to use for this dress.  Obviously it’s sat in my fabric stash until now.

In order to create the stripes, I had to piece together the navy and cream fabrics.  I “created” my own striped fabric and then cut out the bodice pieces.  I sewed it all together, then made a lining out of a cream satin(that was awful to work with) with a navy facing.  I got all that put together and then tried to hand draft some cap sleeves.  I screwed up somehow and the sleeves totally threw off the fit of the bodice to the point that it was not salvageable.

I ended up sacrificing the fullness of the skirt to create more striped fabric to make a new bodice.  Because I now had less cream fabric to work with, I made the cream stripe smaller…now the darts where in a different area of the stripe and it caused the stripe on the front to NOT line up with the stripe on the back(luckily I noticed this BEFORE I sewed the back to the front). So, I had to re-draw where the stripes should be on the back and make a new  piece of fabric from which to make the back bodice pieces.

Julydress-1-3

I used basically every bit of the fabric I had bought.  I didn’t want to abandon this dress because the fabric was expensive and I had used my Christmas money for it!!  In the end it turned out quite well, but wow, was it ever a pain.

I did a lapped zipper on the back and because of the stripe, I had to change my thread colors as I went along.  It’s lined in a navy polyester material I found in my remnant stash(because I absolutely hated the cream lining I had bought).  There was just enough to make a bodice and a skirt.  In hind-sight I should have mimicked the striped down the middle of the bodice with some cream fabric, because the navy lining does make the cream stripe on the bodice a bit dark.

I did originally do a pleated skirt, but once again this fabric did not hold the pleats properly and it looked all funky.  Some day I wil be successful at making a pleated skirt dress.

Julydress-1

I made thin bow belt that kind of blends in with the dress but if you look closely you can see it.

I tried the dress with my petticoat, but I don’t think the skirt is full enough for the petticoat, it looks a little off of something:

Julydress-1-2

Julydress-1-5

{Dress/Belt: Made by Me, Shoes: Bakers}

Funnily enough, I went to Kate Spade’s website today to see their new offerings and they are selling this dress, which is basically my dress in a lighter color.  This is probably the fourth time I’ve made a dress then seen similar dresses like it available in multiple stores!

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 11.53.06 AM

Have a great weekend!!

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “The July Dress/Nautical Day #5

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! I don’t know that I could teach you anything that you can’t look up online(which is how i learned most of my stuff). I think it’s just a lot of trial and error and putting the time into the sewing. I’ve only been sewing for about 2 years, but I spend so much time doing it(I’d estimate anywhere from 15-20 hours/week) that I think I’ve grown in my skills faster than someone who sews much less.

Leave a Reply

