Nautical Day #4

I realized this morning as I was getting ready that each one of my Nautical Week outfits has contained some piece of clothing that I have either made from scratch or re-made/up-cycled from an existing piece of clothing.  In other words, every outfit for this week contains a piece(or several pieces) of clothing with stitches I made!

I made the shirt out of a boys X-Large t-shirt and a hideous 80’s dress I picked up from goodwill for $1.  I slimmed the sides/arms of the shirt based on a shirt I already had, then cut off the collar and made a v-neck.  I used the hideous dress to make the bow which I then tacked down on the shirt.  I originally wore it on the fourth with a pair of navy shorts.

Obviously I’m not going to wear shorts to work, so I decided to pair it with my red stripe Kate skirt and to tone down all the red, my navy/white stripe pumps.

nauticalday4-1-3

{Shirt: Made by Me(original t-shirt from Target, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Limited}

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Nautical Day #4

      • kittehluvs says:

        I’m wearing a necklace today that I thought you might like since you have so many nautical outfits. I can’t find it at the Limited anymore 😦 it’s a really long anchor necklace.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        That sounds perfect! I would love to have a necklace like that. This past weekend, my mom and I were shopping at Hancock fabrics and they had this reddish fabric with navy anchor’s printed on it. I almost bought it but then I didn’t. Then I saw on Banana Republic’s website a blouse that looked like it was made out of that exact fabric. So, I’m sending my mom to Hancock today to go buy that fabric for me!!!

      • guitargrl325 says:

        My mom bought me 4 yards, so I’m hoping to make a blouse and a dress. At first I just wanted to make a blouse, but then I started seeing all these printed dresses and decided I needed one!

Leave a Reply

