Nautical Week Day #2

This whole week is dedicated to Nautical inspired looks.

As many times as I’ve worn my mustard skirt, I realized I had not yet paired it with my navy polka dot blouse and striped sweater.  This look is maybe not as nautical as some of the others will be this week, but adding in red accessories sealed the deal, at least for me.

I tried the outfit two ways.

The skirt with petticoat:

nauticalday2-1-4

No petticoat, and with glasses:

nauticalday2-1

{Skirt: Made by Me, Blouse: Gap, Cardigan: J Crew Factory, Shoes: Cato, Necklace: WHBM}

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Nautical Week Day #2

  1. Rejoice For The Day says:

    Love this skirt, and I find myself more and more attracted to mustard yellow lately, beautiful! If I may ask, do you remember which pattern you made the skirt from? I am looking for one similar and I really like yours. The outfit with the petticoat is my favorite. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I did not use a pattern for it. It’s basically 3 rectangles that are stitched together with on seam pockets and a back zipper and then attached to a waistband. Here’s a tutorial I found that is similar to how I did it. And this is a tutorial I made for a pleated version, but instead of making the pleats, you would just run a gathering stitch along the top of the skirt pieces and gather them to fit the waistband instead of pleating them. HOpe that helps!

      As for the fabric, I don’t know where it is from. My husband’s aunt and uncle gave me a giant box of fabric they had collected over the years as they’ve travelled around the world and that was one of the pieces in the box. I was SOO excited when I got it because I had been looking for a mustard skirt and/or mustard fabric for ages. I think the fabric is silk(or a poly silk) based on the weave and how it feels.

Leave a Reply

