These Things Do Happen

Well, apparently when I wrote about my Alexander weekend and the little crazy stuff that was happening, the universe went, “haha, you think that’s crazy?  I’ll show you crazy.”.

My car was in an accident yesterday.  Not me.  Just my car.  While it was parked at work.  The person that caused the accident managed to knock over a pole, side swipe a car then do a full 180* before plowing into a pickup truck and my car.  I was parked next to the pickup truck and the responsible party rammed into the pickup so hard that it pushed the truck all along the side of my car and up onto the median before finally running into my back wheel.

I’ve black out where you could see a reflection of a license plate, but mine is the Honda SUV:

1013178_10100142064114777_917392679_n

I was just sitting in my office when I heard a crash and a car alarm go off.  I just walked out into the optical to take a look out of the window when I realized my car was involved.

Thankfully, hubby was off yesterday so he drove down to take care of the police, towing and insurance while I continued to see patients.  And since he works from home, I’ll be driving his car until mine is fixed.  I don’t know what happened to the driver other than they walked away from the accident, but were taken to the hospital for an exam(I think).  I don’t know the extent of the damage to my car and what they timing will be on the repairs.  It’s been towed to a lot where it will be examined by the insurance adjuster and I guess we’ll go from there.

It was just a crazy day.  We are all still confused by how it all occurred, because to push a big truck along an SUV and up onto a curb, they must have been accelerating like crazy.

I honestly didn’t even plan on doing an outfit post today after all that insanity, but I woke up early and had plenty of time to do my hair/makeup.  And since I already had an outfit picked out, it seemed silly to waste a perfectly nice outfit/good hair!

Yes, call the presses, I am wearing pants(and standing awkwardly as usual).

thesethings-1-2

{Blouse: Lela Rose for Target, Pants: Banana Republic, Shoes: Bakers, Bracelet: WHBM}

I’ll admit, I’m a little worried about what this day might bring after yesterday!

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “These Things Do Happen

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I am so grateful that no one was in the parking lot during all this or they would probably have been killed!

  1. heidi says:

    oh man, car issues are the worst! what a totally random but still upsetting accident! what the heck even happened to make the car crash into yours? i hope you don’t have too much trouble settling for repairs through your insurance company!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I don’t even still know what really happened. I mean, I have the police report and the rendering of the accident progression is just insane. The driver made an almost 180* turn, hit a sign, drove up on the sidewalk, hit a light pole, turned slightly to the right, hit a Nissan then did an almost 180* turn to finally plow into the red truck and my CRV. And with the level of damage, the accelerator had to be engaged the whole time. It’s a miracle no one was hurt. The driver was elderly so I do believe some confusion/medication was probably involved, and I also suspect maybe some alcohol or other illicit substance because they refused any treatment from the medics on scene. That’s just suspicious to me.

Leave a Reply

