My Alexander Weekend

Did you guys ever read Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day when you were young?  It was one of my favorite books and my grandma used to read it to me all the time.  If you’ve never read it, the gist of the story is Alexander is a young boy whose day just keeps getting worse and worse, and he keeps saying he wants to just move to Australia.  In the end he realizes that everyone just has bad days sometimes.

My dress breaking in the middle of the work day on Friday was just the beginning of a crap ton of stupid little annoyances that were going to happen all weekend.  Nothing horribly bad, just annoying and kind of enough to make you want to crawl in bed with a hot chocolate(which I did, sort of, at least the hot chocolate part)!

After the play on Friday night, a torrential rain storm came through and we all got SOAKED to the bone walking to the car.  Hubby and I had the heater cranking the whole drive home because we were freezing!!

Saturday, I spent most of the day sewing. I thought I would finish another car seat cover, only to discover I was out of elastic to do the last step.  No big deal though, I thought I’d get more later, so I started working on my July Dress.  For the record, the navy/cream taffeta dress was by far the favorite so that’s the dress I picked.

Anyways, I worked on that stinking dress from about 11:30-9pm(lots of issues) only to realize I completely did some calculations wrong and adding sleeves caused everything to be all wonky.  Normally this is where I would unpick my stitches and fix everything, but the fabric I’m using is so delicate that once you’ve sewn it, it leaves markings where the old stitches were.

The long and short of it is, that bodice I spent all day working on was unusable. At that point, I wasn’t even sure I’d have enough fabric to make a new bodice, so I gave up for the night.

Saturday afternoon, we started receiving all sorts of emergency notifications that there were flash flood warnings all around us.  We made the decision to stay home and not risk going to church, and then the weather ended up being perfectly fine.

On Sunday, I got busy doing some food prep, of which making some mayonnaise for chicken salad was one of my tasks.  I’ve been making mayo for over two years now, but for some reason lately, I’ve been having a LOT of mayo failures(a mayo failure is when the mayo goes out of emulsion and all you have is a blender full of liquid).  Yesterday was no exception.  I was really mad but I didn’t want to waste all my ingredients so I stuck it in the fridge and hoped for the best(it ended up working out all right).

Then when I was chopping up the peppers we put the chicken salad in, the knife slipped and I cut my finger, which made the rest of the days chores a total pain in the butt.

Finally, I was able to get back into my sewing room and with some careful cutting, I had just enough fabric to create a new bodice.  However, then I messed up on the middle cream stripe(didn’t take the bust darts into consideration), but through some careful work, was able to miraculously make it work.

I attached new sleeves and now I’m not sure I like them. Visually the sleeves look uneven or like they don’t match.  I’ve measured at different points and they are the same measurements, but now I don’t know if I should attempt to remove the sleeves and make the dress sleeveless(which may or may not ruin this second bodice) or go with the sleeves….I will probably attach the skirt and see how it looks and maybe have you guys help me decide.

One thing that didn’t fail this weekend is my manicure!  I’m really happy with how it turned out.   The darker coral is a gel(I forget which color, but it’s Shellac brand, the coral pink one), and then I used Essie’s Haute as Hello, with an Elf gold glitter as the gold(don’t know that color either)

IMG_2396

I wanted a really simple to put together outfit this morning, so I pulled out my March Dress and paired it with simple pink accessories.

alexanderweekend1-1

{Dress: Made by Me, Necklace/Belt: WHBM, Shoes: Rack Room}

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “My Alexander Weekend

Leave a Reply

