Pick the July Dress!

Hey everyone!

Did you have a good Holiday(if you live in the US that is)?  Mine was AWESOME.  We had a big crowd with my sister, her husband, my sister-in-law and her husband, their two kids, my parents, my husband and my cousin.  The kids were basically our entertainment for the whole day.  I wore a really cute t-shirt that I had “made” out of a boys XL shirt and a dress from Goodwill, but I didn’t get a chance to snap a pic.  I’ll get one the next time I wear it though.

I don’t have an outfit picture for today because our house was a little chaotic this morning.  My sister-in-law and her hubby left this morning and they were busy packing up, and I was trying as much as I could to help out with the kids.  I was also tired and feeling blah so I didn’t put anything special on.

I wasn’t even going to post today, but then I realized I could use your help deciding on what kind of dress to make for my “July” dress(as part of my challenge to make 1 dress a month for the entire year).

So here’s the deal, I had originally planned to make a casual/cute patriotic dress to wear yesterday.  I had a navy/red stripe cotton fabric that I thought would be perfect.  I got the dress finished to about 95% and realized I didn’t like it at. all.

photo copy

It honestly looks loads better on the dress form than it did on me.  The pleats hung all funky and the sleeves cut my arms off at a weird place.  I decided to switch it to a gathered skirt(the fabric was too flimsy to hold the pleats properly) and remove the sleeves, but I still don’t like it.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with this dress(probably just turn it into a skirt).

Anyways, that means I’m lacking in a contribution for my July entry in my 12 Month Dress Challenge.  My 7th wedding anniversary is next weekend, so technically I could make a dress for that, but I don’t think we’ll be going out to dinner or doing anything fancy.  I had originally purchased some fabric to make a special anniversary dress, but I think I’m going to a wedding in October that I’d like to save that fabric for.

So, I have two-ish options for dresses I could make this month.  I already have the fabric for both, but I thought it would be fun to let you guys decide which I should make this month.

Option 1: Navy/cream silk taffeta with cap sleeves and full pleated skirt.

Screen shot 2012-01-16 at 2.12.03 PM

 

Option 2A: A sleeveless coral/red lace(I think my fabric is a bit more of an eyelet look than strict lace) overlay dress

100% cotton, full skirt, exposed center zipper

 

Option 2B: Basically the same as above, only with cap sleeves(If I do this one, the sleeves will be the lace/eyelet only so they will be a bit sheer)

corallace

 

All right, so cast your votes.  

. I’m more than likely going to start working on the dress this weekend, so get the votes in today!

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Pick the July Dress!

  1. kimmie says:

    Aw, the dress looks really good on the dressform, but it sucks that it doesn’t look good on 😦 Can’t wait to see what you end up creating instead!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Before I hemmed it, it looked very grandma-ish. I kept hemming it shorter and shorter per the hubby’s opinion(and he’s not one for short dresses mind you, we just needed to get it shorter to not look old-ladyish) and then when the length was good, it suddenly had transformed into some twee preschooler’s dream dress.

      The fabric is a thin, flimsy cotton, so I should’ve known better than to try crisp box pleats, but I was trying to re-create a Kate Spade dress. I think if I had started with a sleeveless, gathered skirt dress I might have liked it better, but after so many frustrations, I just wanted to abandon it.

  2. heidi says:

    that is too bad your dress didn’t turn out as you wished it to. it really does look great on the dressform and i love the striped fabric. i’m sure the next dress you attempt will turn out great, i’m looking forward to seeing which one you choose!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I think the main problem is they type of fabric it was. It was a thin, quilting type cotton that just couldn’t stand up to the pleats and wrinkled like crazy. I was reading on another blog about taking a too thin/drapey fabric and underlining it with a heavier fabric so I may try that at some point.

Leave a Reply

