Casual Friday

As I’ve mentioned before, we don’t really have a dress code in my office.  There’s an implied understanding that we should all look professional, so no shorts, jeans, short skirts, mid-drifts ect.  I tend to dress a little “nicer” than is required for my job, but sometimes I want something a little more laid-back(particularly on a Friday).

Really though, this outfit isn’t that casual. What makes it more “comfy” and “casual” is the addition of my new boat shoes instead of a pair of nude pumps.  My feet were hurting after 5 straight days of high heels and I wanted something cute and comfortable.  It was a bit of a challenge finding something to wear with these shoes with the limited amount of pieces I have left in my closet as I near the end of my No-Repeat challenge.

But I ended up putting together an outfit that I think not only is color coordinated, but also carries a bit of that nautical/preppy(stripes and button down) aesthetic that boat shoes have.  I even tried to do a loose “beachy” wave with my hair but I’m not sure how successful I was.

casualfriday-1-2

The shoes have white/pink plaid along the sides(with sequins!):

casualfriday-1-6

{Button-down: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic), Cardigan: Limited, Skirt/Necklace: WHBM, Shoes: 6pm.com}

I have a BUSY weekend ahead of me.  My grandparents are in town and I’m going to a patriotic concert on Sunday with them and my parents and having everyone over for dinner afterwards.  On top of that, my sister-in-law, brother-in-law and their two kids are arriving on Monday night to spend the week with us, so I have to do some cleaning/cooking to prepare for that.

In addition to those guests, on the 4th my parents, sister and her husband and my cousin who I haven’t seen in probably 10 years are coming over for the day.  It’s going to be a busy(but exciting) week!

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Casual Friday

  1. heidi says:

    this is definitely a cute, casual look but still professional and put together. my eye is always drawn to coordination/matching, so i love that you brought out the tan in your sweater with the tan in your shoes! i hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I was trying to match the tan in the shoes with the tan in cardigan…glad you picked up on it!

Leave a Reply

