The June Dress at Work

Well, first of all, thank you so much for the outpouring of love on my post about infertility and Aspen’s sickness.  It’s good to sometimes  “get it all out there” for multiple reasons.  It’s nice to find people in the same or similar boat.  Additionally, I do like to keep this blog as real as possible.  I think a lot of blogs try to present this “perfect” life that makes me as a reader feel like somehow I’m failing because I am not as “perfect” as blogger X.  I don’t want anyone reading my blog to think that I have it all together, that my life is perfect or that they are a failure because they don’t measure up to what they perceive my life to be.

Onto the good news: Aspen is home from the hospital and doing well!  She’s exhausted and sleeping a lot(which you would expect after almost 2 days in the hospital), but her spark seems to have returned.  Bailey and Gracie were besides themselves to see her when hubby brought her home.  Those three dogs are basically inseparable.

I think it’s about time to get back into the fashion though don’t you think?

When I made the June dress, I told you that I wanted to find a way to wear it to work. Being that it’s probably one of my favorite dresses and will likely be the most expensive dress I ever make, I knew I wanted to wear for more than just “special occasions”.  I figured I could tone it down by wearing a cardigan over it and luckily I happened to have a purple-y/plum cardigan that was a perfect color match.  I didn’t wear the petticoat just to keep the drama down a bit.

I figured today was a good day to wear my fancy dress as I have another doctor dinner to attend(every other month the big eye hospital puts on a dinner for local optometrists/ophthalmologists with free food and 1 hour of free CE. I love it!)

And, you get to see my new ombre ‘do!  It’s not nearly as dramatic as it was the first day.  I think some of the darker colored base washed out into the lighter ends.  My mom didn’t even notice it when she saw me on Saturday so that definitely means it’s subtle!

junedressatwork-1-2

You can see the ombre a bit better in this picture:

junedressatwork-1

{Dress: Made by me, Cardigan: Target, Necklace: Banana Republic, Shoes: 6pm.com}

The front panel on the dress’s skirt is hanging a bit wonky.  I ran out of time to try to iron it flat.  Nobody has noticed though! I definitely feel very pretty and feminine(which is definitely needed after my crap weekend).  It makes me want to fill my closet with lots of beautiful floral sundresses.

Do you try to take your more formal “party” dress work appropriate to get more use out of them?

-Tamara

7 thoughts on “The June Dress at Work

  1. Andi says:

    It’s so hard to know how much to share on a blog, so I really appreciate your honesty about your struggles. I hope things get better for you soon!

    On a lighter note, I really love your ombre hair! I have not been a fan of this on most people, but yours is subtle enough that it looks really nice!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I too, for the most part do not like the ombre trend, particularly on really dark hair. It seems to look best on blondes and I hadn’t really seen it much on redheads so my stylist and I kind of worked together to come up with it(we both searched for pictures as ideas but couldn’t really find any). She actually used 4 different colors to achieve the look and I like that it looks really natural and almost like I just spent time in the sun. I know it’s pretty natural because my mom didn’t even freaking notice! And she usually notices whenever I do anything to my hair.

      She also put in a few highlights around my face which brought some of the lighter color “up” which I think helps give it that natural look. I think when it’s dark hair all around then light just at the bottom…it looks too much like you’re growing out your roots or something!

  2. kittehluvs says:

    I love this dress + your ombre tips! I also try to make formal dresses more work-appropriate. My office is quite casual so throwing on a denim jacket or cardigan usually does the trick!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Yeah, I kind of have a lot of lee-way with my dress code at work, so I can definitely get away with adding a blazer or cardigan to take a formal dress to work. I just hate the idea of having this formal/fancy dress that gets worn only once or twice and then you never see it again!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It’s okay..you can say it again! Flattery will get you everywhere haha. I was kind of surprised though, because not many people really said anything about it(patients or staff). I was kind of expecting people to be all, OMG the dress is awesome! But at least at the dinner I went to, all the ophthalmologists and other optometrists that were there mentioned how nice the dress was and that I always dress so nicely.

Leave a Reply

