Comfortable

First of all, I wanted to thank all of you who left such kind comments on my Unimpressive post.  I promise that I was NOT fishing for compliments when I posted that I didn’t really like my outfit.  It really just goes to show you that it’s all about perspective.

We really are our own worst critics aren’t we?

All right, in keeping with my No-Repeat challenge and really trying to use up as many pieces of my closet as possible, I’m wearing another piece that may have never seen the blog.  I’ve worn it to work before, but never posted it as a work outfit before(and when I’ve worn it before, I wore a different cardigan with it).  This dress is the dress I wore for my optometry school graduation back in 2010.  It’s still one of my favorite dresses of all time.

I had been looking for a dress for quite awhile and had even bought a potential maybe.  Knowing that my graduation was memorial day weekend in Ft. Lauderdale in full doctoral cap and gown, I knew I needed something that would keep me somewhat cool and comfortable, but stylish(obviously).

I had actually seen this dress online and went to the store(Marciano) looking for it specifically.  They didn’t seem to have it, so I was literally walking out the door disappointed when one of the sales staff asked me if I had been looking for something in particular.  I described the dress for them and after looking it up online, they were able to locate it tucked away in a corner of the shop.  I tried it on and knew it was THE ONE.

It was not on sale, and Marciano isn’t exactly a cheap brand, so I paid, for me, quite a bit for this dress(I believe it was $169).  But really, your doctoral graduation is definitely a once in a lifetime event so I was willing to splurge!

I’ve gotten quite a bit of wear out of this dress.  Besides being a gorgeous color/pattern with ruffles and a halter neck, it’s a soft drapey knit jersey that basically feels like I’m wearing PJs.  It doesn’t wrinkle so it’s fantastic to toss into a suitcase for a trip.  It’s dressy enough for a night out on the town and yet, with a cardigan or blazer, I can wear it to work.

 

comfortable-1

{Dress: Marciano, Cardigan/Necklace: Target, Shoes: Payless}

I went with a REALLY natural makeup look today.  I used the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette, which is my FAVORITE palette ever.  If you want to buy just ONE department store shadow collection, I recommend this one 100% .   Bonus is, it’s only $27(as compared to most of the other UD palettes being much higher).  You can do everything from subtle/natural to super smokey.

comfortable-1-6

It’s what I used on my sister when I took her pictures back at Christmas.

980.jpg (1 of 1)

-Tamara

ps-I bought the cutest shoes ever yesterday.  And guess what?? They are FLATS!  Can you believe it?

8 thoughts on “Comfortable

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You’re so welcome. I LOVE all urban decay’s Naked palettes, but I really do love the basic palette best of all. I didn’t think I would because it was labeled as matte, and I usually like my shadows to have a bit of shimmer. I only bought it because my sister asked me to do her hair/makeup and then take pictures of her and her husband for their 1 year anniversary and she wanted a very natural look. I fell in love with the versatility and build-ability of the palette. And it’s not completely matte. There is a white-ish cream shimmer color in there that is, hands down my favorite color of eye shadow ever. I hope that soon they release it as a solo color because I use it everyday even if I’m not using the rest of the palette.

      • kittehluvs says:

        I’ve been looking for more neutral shadow colors because I tend to wear a lot of purples and I just wanted something that I could wear everyday. Do you think the Naked pallette would work with olive skin? I saw a video that urban decay posted on Sephora of an olive skinned lady and it looked pretty good but I just want to make sure. It’s on my wish list for sure.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Honestly, I don’t know for sure because I’ve never used it on an olive skin lady. I would assume so as the colors are VERY neutral. They don’t seem to pull red or silver as much as the other two Nakeds’ do(Naked 1 is very red/gold based and naked 2 is very silver/grey based). I would recommend going to Sephora or Ulta and playing around with it. They’re usually pretty good at Sephora for doing a complimentary look for you with whatever palette you’re looking at.

        I don’t know if it’s available anymore but the Urban Decay Oz Palette in Theodora looked like it would compliment olive skin very well. It was more pricey, but it did also come with an eye liner and lip pencil. I wanted to buy it but I had so many similar/same colors in other palettes that I couldn’t justify almost $50.

  1. dragonfly1121 says:

    I love that your idea of a comfy outfit is a dress, if you asked that question I bet about 85% of the population would answer yoga pants. Now don’t get me wrong I don’t leave my house wearing yoga pants unless I am going to a yoga class, but not everybody agrees with me on that one. I’m just sayin’ good for you and your unique sense of style!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Well, technically the dress is made out of the same material as yoga pants!! So really, it’s not much different than a night gown. I do like the breeze underneath if you know what I mean that a dress/skirt gives you over pants.

Leave a Reply

