For Simplicities Sake

I’m about 98% positive that I’ve never worn this skirt on the blog. And since I have been more or less posting my daily work outfits for almost 2 years now, that means this skirt has sat in my closet for two years un-worn.  In terms of how old it is, I can’t really remember.  If I had to hazard a guess I would say that I got it before I started optometry school(2006), so it’s likely more than 7 years old.  I’m also pretty positive my mom has the same skirt, but I could be wrong.

I do know that it’s from Loft back when they actually had cute and appropriate length clothes(is it just me or does it seem like their clothes are looking more and more like they came from the same designer/factory as F21).

Anyways, I’m not entirely sure why I’ve put off wearing this skirt for so long.  For awhile I kind of worried that  it might look a bit frumpy with the embroidery(and it’s actually embroidery not a fake iron) and the midi-length.  But, with my No Repeat Challenge still in full effect, I decided to give it a shot before giving it away(which is what I’m doing to pieces that I haven’t worn in ages and no longer really like).  Well, I’ve re-discovered my love for this skirt so it will NOT be going into the goodwill pile.

In order to hi-light the embroidery, I decided to keep the rest of the outfit very simple(and comfortable haha).  I’m quite pleased with how it all turned out.

forsimplicitiessake-1-2

{Sweater: Banana Republic, Skirt: Loft, Shoes: Kate Spade, Necklace: Target}

Are you a clothes hoarder like me?  I still have some pieces from High School(and I graduated 13 years ago).  Mostly just t-shirts and accessories, but I do definitely still have office-type clothes from undergrad and my early 20s.  I used to be much worse at hoarding clothes actually. I never want to give anything away because WHAT IF I NEEDED IT some day??

I’ve definitely gotten much better at giving away things I don’t wear or don’t even like anymore.  In fact, I would say in the past 8 months I’ve donated WAY more clothing and shoes than I’ve bought.  And I still have tons of clothes.

One thing I am working on this summer is building my casual wardrobe.  My closet really only has work clothes, dressy/formal clothes, workout clothes and really super casual(think painting the walls or working in the yard) clothes. I  don’t have a lot of need for casual or dressy-casual clothes.  However, every few months I do have an occasion for needing an outfit that’s not a ratty bleach stained mess or something I would wear for work.

I sort of go into panic/freeze mode when I have a casual(such as a day in Forsyth Park or a BBQ) event to attend.  Until last week, I literally owned zero pairs of shorts(other than workout shorts).  So I picked up a few pairs of shorts from Target, along with a few “nicer” type t-shirts.  And yesterday I ordered a super-cute pair of boat shoes and today I’m going to look at another pair during lunch(who am I becoming??).

The long and short of it is, I’m hoping to start occasionally featuring some “causal” weekend looks.  I can’t promise that they’ll be any sort of consistency to these outfits, but I’m going to try.

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “For Simplicities Sake

  1. missanubis says:

    I love boat shoes. I wore a gold pair practically my whole honeymoon. We went to St Augustine, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, Savannah, Beaufort, and Hilton Head. Kind of nautical.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I used to hate boat shoes, but now I’m really falling for them. I had to narrow down from about 10 pairs of sperry’s that I was head over heels for. I ended up getting the pair that was on sale, but if I really like them I might buy more.

      I live in Savannah, so I’ll be using the shoes to walk around downtown/all the squares!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Ok so it’s you that has this skirt as well and not mom then. I knew someone else had it.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

