Unimpressive

How was your weekend?  Mine was crazy and fun.

I met up with my mom on Friday after work and we headed up to my sister’s house, our car crammed full of all my makeup, hair and manicure supplies as well as a few benches and tables.  We got up early on Saturday morning and started prepping for the spa party my sister was throwing.  We basically worked from about 6:30 until the party started at 2pm.

We had a great time.  We had set up a pedicure station, a manicure station and a hair/makeup station as well as a DIY hand scrub station.  My sister was in charge of pedicures/manicures and I was doing hair/makeup/manicures.  We only had four ladies attend, but we filled the entire time(and even went over time) with just those four women’s treatments.  I did one makeup look, three hair styles and one gel manicure. My sister did two pedicures and one gel manicure.  Those few things took us almost 4 hours to complete!!

Everyone assumed I was an actual hairstylist/makeup artist.  When they found out I wasn’t they told me I should quit my day-job and become one.  I don’t think they realized I am a doctor though!

My mom helped out by being the “errand” girl. She cleaned out the pedicure tub and re-filled it for each lady.  She also helped with the hand scrubs and getting people food/drinks while they were getting pampered.

I don’t want to take too much away from my sister’s blog since I know she’ll be posting details and lots of pictures, but I thought I’d share a few pictures from the party.

Traci and I wanted to have very dramatic makeup already done for the party. She picked out a very bright pink look, which I went for a extreme smokey green.

DSC_0139-3

Close-up of my makeup:

unimpressive-1-3

The dessert table(I made the sign for the cupcakes!):

DSC_0143-7

Our signature drink(which we called Aphrodite’s Elixir):

DSC_0166-30

And finally a few of the lovely ladies who attended:

DSC_0171-35

It was a great time and I hope that someday we can do another party just like it!!

After the party we headed into Florence for a quick shopping trip and to pick up some dinner.  We all crashed into bed shortly after arriving home!

On Sunday mom and I packed up and left before 8am(we wanted to get home in time to do some chores).  It’s about a 3 hour drive home and we stopped for groceries on the way.  Dad and hubby were out golfing when we got back, so we just hung out until they came home with lunch from Sonic.

After lunch, they headed home and hubby and I headed out to the pool. We swam laps and played around(and I got a little sun!) then came home so hubby could take a nap before work.  While hubby was napping I got to work on some cleaning.  I was able to clean/polish all the kitchen cabinets, clean around the oven, clean the baseboards, detail the inside of my car, organize my closet and organize/straighten all our different book shelves in just a few hours of work.

The reason for the cleaning spree is hubby’s uncle and soon-to-be aunt are visiting from Canada this coming weekend.  Nothing like impending company to make you want to do all those little chores you’ve been putting off for months!

The title of today’s post refers to today’s outfit.  I really had high hopes for it while it was hanging in my closet.  In theory, it should be awesome.  Somehow though, it just feels meh. I think the fit of the skirt is partially to blame.  It’s somewhere between a pencil and an A-line skirt and it’s a little big on me in the waist/booty area so it hangs awkwardly.  Maybe it needs some rehab in my sewing room?

I honestly considered not even posting this look because I don’t really like it at all(plus my makeup and hair are less than fantastic), but I do want this blog to showcase my real life, which more often than not includes fashion failures.

unimpressive-1

{Blouse: Goodwill(originally NY&Co, Cardigan: Ann Taylor Factory, Skirt/Belt: Limited, Necklace: WHBM, Shoes: Bakers}

If you’re a fashion/outfit blogger, do you post your “failures”?  Do you like seeing failures?  I definitely appreciate when the bloggers I read post “failures”. More often than not, I don’t see the failure  and if I do, I like knowing that I’m not the only imperfect one!!

-Tamara

10 thoughts on “Unimpressive

  1. Franziska says:

    I really really like this outfit. I like that the colors are complimentary and that everything has a reason to be there. I seriously don’t think it’s a failure. For me, I post probably 9/10 of the days I take pictures. Sometimes the outfit just isn’t worth being on there, or the pictures turned out poorly, but like you it’s about what I actually wear!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      See, I’ve never thought one of your outfits was a fail! I guess it really is just a matter of perspective. I love your blog for inspiring me with more casual/dressy looks(like jeans with blazers and stuff).

      If my pictures turn out really really bad, I’ll sometimes not post and wait to re-take the pictures either that night or the next morning. I don’t want to look too hideous(only partly hideous) in my pictures(ha). 🙂

  2. kimmie says:

    That spa party looks like so much fun! And so much work, haha 🙂 I wish i lived closer to you so I could come and crash your parties, heh.

    I REALLY like this outfit of yours (probably one of my favorites of yours), and i think I might copy your color combination of blue/yellow/red primary colors 🙂 Also, i like that your hair and makeup look more ‘natural’ instead of your everyday dolled up looks (which are totally fine too!)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Oh man I would love to have you come crash a party! Too bad we live about as far apart as you can and still both be in the US!!!

      I always find it so surprising when people like an outfit that I think is not good. I guess it’s all perspective because most of the bloggers I read(you, Whitney, Heidi, Franziska) have posted looks they didn’t really think were great and I have liked them all. So, I guess it is good to post our pictures we are less than thrilled with.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Isn’t it though? I so love doing make-overs and hair styles!! I actually had an idea this past weekend about setting up some kind of organization that does volunteer hair/makeup/nails for prom/homecoming for underprivileged women. Kind of like those prom dress donation stores.

Leave a Reply

