The Speech

I don’t know if I mentioned this already, so bear with me if I have, but today I’m doing a speech/presentation on eye health and disease to the local Rotary Club.  Obviously I wanted to look extra professional, yet still stylish not only because I am representing my practice/myself but also because when I feel good about what I’m wearing, I’m more confident and outgoing.

My original intention was to make a suit to wear.  You saw the muslin for the jacket a few weeks ago.  The root canal and all the pain associated with it before and the recovery afterwards really just sapped up all the time I had planned on using to make the suit.  I knew I would not be able to complete it in time for today so I stopped working on it(I am still going to make it eventually of course).

That left me in a quandary as to what to wear.  Luckily, I had purchased a new coral blazer from Gap a few weeks ago(after seeing it on practically all my favorite bloggers) that I hadn’t yet worn that would work well in the professional yet stylish look I was going for.  I had to break my No-Repeat challenge to put this outfit together, but obviously an important event allows for rule breaking right?

I put two nearly identical, yet different outfits together(both contained navy+polka dots and lace) but ended up going with the one you’re about to see because I liked the silhouette the best.  I’ll get around to showing you the other version one day when I’ve finished my no-repeat challenge.

And obviously I had to wear my new glasses!

The Speech3 (1 of 1)

And with the blazer un-buttoned(which is how I’m wearing it):

The Speech2 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Blazer: Gap, Skirt: Thrifted(originally Banana Republic), Shoes: Limited, Necklace: Target}

Okay, so I’m back from the luncheon and my speech.   I think it went pretty well.  I did have to cut it short in the end(I could easily speak for hours about ocular disease), but it seemed well-recieved and I had lots of people come up to me afterwards to tell me they enjoyed the speech and would be making appointments for examinations.

-Tamara

12 thoughts on “The Speech

  1. dragonfly1121 says:

    Your glasses look a lot like mine. Mine is a GG 3566 and because I had my contacs in I didn’t get to try them out. You look very professional and I’m sure your speech went fantabulously!

Leave a Reply

