My Favorite Target Find

I had to cheat a little bit on my No-Repeat Challenge today.  I’ve been participating most of the week with Heidi and Whitney‘s We Love Target link-up and today we are supposed to wear our very favorite Target score.  I have several favorite Target “scores”; all of which I have already worn at some point during my self-imposed No-Repeat challenge.  I decided that in order to participate in the link-up, I’d have to break my challenge.

I absolutely adore my polka dot sweater and polka dot Target skirt, but what I think is my best “score” is my Thom Browne blazer I picked up for around $30(when it had originally been over $130) and altered it myself(I bought it a few sizes too big on accident).

I’ll be honest with you though…these pictures didn’t turn out that great.

First of all, my tooth that was a mild annoyance a week ago has turned into a full-blown dental emergency.  I’m typing this blog at work, just biding time till I go have an emergency root canal(less than an hour now).**  The past 24 hours I have experienced some of the worst pain of my life.  I’m living on ibuprofen, ice packs and orajel(and that only takes the pain from horrific to manageable).  Not only is the original tooth giving me trouble but another tooth has decided to join the party.  Last night was spent crying on the couch.

**Before I could finish writing this post, I went to the endodontist and had an emergency root canal.  The relief is unbelievable.

Additionally, I went and had my hair colored last night(amid the pain….they charge you if you miss your appointment).  I am really unhappy with how my hair turned out.  First of all, it is NOTHING like I wanted.  I went in with this picture:

IMG_0017

Which to my eyes, looks like the color my hair normally is with some chunky blonde peekaboo highlights.  What I have is tomato red hair with some incredibly subtle(almost nonexistent) orange peekaboo highlights.

blazer2 (1 of 1)

On top of all that, she really didn’t do a good job of covering up my roots as they still seem somewhat prominent to me.

My hair is not ruined or anything, but it’s not what I wanted(and it looks like something I could have easily, and have done myself in my bathroom for $10) and it costs $145 plus tip.  For single process color with 4 foils.  No cut, minimal styling.  The only reason I went to this salon was that I had a gift card for $75.  I figured that would cover most of the cost and I’d just have out of pocket a little bit …not $90 extra.

If I had done this myself I’d just ride it out, but since I had to pay so much for something so not great, I’m feeling very displeased.  I’m thinking about going to visit another stylist to try to get more of what I wanted in the first place.

So, let’s get to the outfit shall we?

blazer1 (1 of 1)

{Blazer: Thom Browne for Target, Blouse: Goodwill(unknown original store), Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes/Belt: Limited}

Someday I promise I will wear this blazer with something other than red and blue!

Have a great weekend!

-Tamara

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Target Find

  1. Franziska says:

    oh. my. god. THAT SKIRT. Seriously, that’s like my “THIS IS EVERYTHING I WANT IN A SKIRT” skirt. sorry for all the caps, but I really like.

    and I’m sorry to hear about the hair problems. I can’t believe it was so expensive for so little work – that’s a bit ridiculous. I’ve started going to this one woman salon (it’s in a building with a bunch of one woman salons) and it’s so much cheaper, and I like it so much better. Since she’s not working for someone else, they don’t charge a bunch more to cover everything else. I’m actually really bummed that I just found her 6 months ago and now I have to move! 😦

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Randomly, I found the fabric for this skirt at Wal-Mart(believe it or not), but I’ve never seen it since. I’ve had several people tell me they’d pay me to make them a similar skirt, but I can’t seem to find the fabric anywhere. It’s like my wal-mart stocks really cute fabrics for like 1 day, because this isn’t the only amazing fabric I’ve found there one time and then can never find it again.

      I had the BEST stylist in Florida. Seriously, not only was she amazing at cuts/color and actually did what I asked, instead of what she wanted to do(which is what I think most stylist do, what they want not what the client wants) and her prices were so reasonable. I would get a hair cut/style plus highlights AND low lights for $100. I’ve seriously considered driving over to Ft. Lauderdale to get her to do my hair when we visit my in-laws(who live about 1.5 hours away from Lauderdale). That’s how good she is.

      My mom’s stylist is really good, BUT his salon is inconvenient and he’s really expensive. UGH, I hate finding a good stylist.

  2. dragonfly1121 says:

    I’m sorry about your tooth, I have had 2 kids and a toothache is the worst pain in the world. I would go back to that salon and talk to a manager, if I paid that much it had better be what I wanted and your request wasn’t unreasonable. On the plus side your outfit is adorable 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I do need to talk myself into going back to the salon. I HATE confrontation and I feel like I would have to be confrontational to go back and tell them to fix it. I’d almost rather pay another stylist to fix it. I haven’t had good experiences with going back to a salon to have a mistake “fixed”. The one other time I was unhappy enough to go back and say I hated it, a new stylist “fixed” it and it was still awful and I had to go pay another stylist to finally fix it properly.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Aww…thanks…I’m probably just going to let the red naturally wash out and then keep up with the color at home myself. I seem to have too many disasters when I have it done professionally. I guess it’s just that I feel that if I’m paying someone $100+ to do my hair I should feel like , “WOW THIS IS AMAZING” when I’m done…not, huh, this looks the same or worse than when I do it for $7 worth of supplies.

        It’s the same reason why I now groom my dogs myself. I was paying $50 a dog for hair cuts that looked no better than I could do myself. That’s not to say that there aren’t amazingly talented groomers and hair stylists out there, but I haven’t really found them. And I’m tired of looking and spending money being disappointed.

      • dragonfly1121 says:

        Well you are definitely saving money now! But seriously make you could at least write a letter, you should be amazed if you are spending that much. Even if you don’t get your money back it might make you feel better. Good luck in whatever you decide 🙂

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Thanks for the encouragement. I think I’m going to mess around with it myself and try to add in some painted on highlights/ombre. I’m kind of over getting my hair done professionally because I just can’t seem to get what I want across to the stylist and I’m always much happier when I do it myself.

  3. amy says:

    Most salons will fix your hair within a week or so of the appointment if you aren’t happy. I would take your photo again, talk to the manager, and then go from there.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’ll have to look into that…though I’m the type of person that hates any type of confrontation so I will have to work up to going back in and saying I’m unhappy. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

