Weekend Update

I had a very productive weekend, with lots to share, so I thought it would probably be best to split up the weekend/project post and the fashion post so I didn’t end up with a 10,000 word post.

So, without further ado, let’s get on with the weekend post.

If I hadn’t mentioned it before, I’m speaking to the local rotary club about eye care and disease next Thursday, so I spent Friday evening working on my presentation as well as making hubby sit through it(he learned a lot).

I spent most of Saturday working on the construction of the June Dress.  I’d say it’s about 95% done at this point.  I still need to do some hand sewing as well as complete the hem…but since it’s a circle skirt I’m letting it hang for a few days before I do the hem(a circle skirt has some portions of the hem on the bias which is stretchier than the straight grain and it will stretch out when hung, so you want to let it “fall” out a bit before you hem it or you can end up with a really wonky hem).

Here’s a preview of the dress thus far:

IMG_2235

It’s hanging a little funky because it doesn’t fit my dress form as well as it fits me.  Saturday night was spent watching Dr. Who with hubby whilst organizing my fabrics a’la Marissa.  It looks great now, but I didn’t snag any pictures so I’lll have to get back to you on that one.

On Sunday am, I woke up extra early and it was only the 50s outside.  I took this as a sign that I needed to go running!!  I went on a short run and then headed to the grocery store.  I got home just as hubby was getting up.  It felt great for it to be just 8am and I had already run, gotten groceries and put said groceries away.

After big breakfast(we always have a big breakfast on Sunday mornings: eggs, bacon, some kind of paleo muffin and parsnip hash browns), hubby helped me hang some artwork in my sewing room.  My sister made me a collage of sewing related pictures and accessories(black board and cork board) for my birthday this year so we hung that up as well as a clock I’ve had sitting around for 5 months(and a wall lamp from Ikea that looks like an eye chart because…obviously).

031

The cork board didn’t have any hanging hardware so we weren’t able to hang that one yet.  Once it’s all up, I show you the finished room(finally, I’ve only been talking about it for 6 months now).

After he finished, he had to head downstairs to work(he works from home), so I started getting creative again.  Back in the day, before I discovered sewing, I used to paint.  I have TONS of blank canvases hanging out in various closets so I decided I should start making use of them.  The main motivator to completing a painting is the fact that my husband’s Uncle and his fiancée are coming to visit from Canada in a few weeks.

I wanted to have a piece of artwork hanging above the guest bed, so I used my June dress fabric as an inspiration and quickly painted this in about an hour.  It’s nothing amazing, but it’s better than nothing and if inspiration ever strikes again to do a long complicated painting, I can always paint over this.

IMG_2247-1

It might look small-ish, but it’s actually about 3’x4′ or so.

I spent the rest of the day working on accessories to wear with the June Dress.  I made a bow clutch and a floral hair piece out of the same fabric that the bustier/strap is made of.

IMG_2239-1

IMG_2237

Originally, hubby was scheduled to work on Monday but found out on Sunday evening that he had too many hours that week and to take it off.  We had big breakfast again and then headed off to Home Depot.  Our original plan was to get him some supplies to finish organizing his office as well as picture hanging supplies to finish my sewing room.  We also were planning to price out some shelving for the closet in my sewing room to organize my business fabrics.

Somehow we ended up deciding to start a project to create a pathway from our back “porch”(i.e., concrete slab) to the little nature area in the back so that the girls would not potty on the grass.

IMG_2249-1

With the original grass we had, the girls urine didn’t seem to affect it at all.  Our new grass though is burning up wherever they pee.  After spending nearly $6k on grass+sprinklers, I wasn’t loving the idea that the girls were ruining our new sod.  We had to have a way to keep them from even getting on the grass because as soon as they hit the grass, they squat.

Originally, we had been toying with building a fence around the slab, with a fenced in path to the nature area(which would also be fenced in), but the fencing was $20-30 for a 3′ section and it would’ve just been too expensive to be feasible.  While at Home Depot yesterday, we saw some decorative landscape edging which was significantly cheaper than the fencing.  We decided to go for it and create a path from the porch to the nature area with some decorative pavers.

As usual, we couldn’t find everything we needed at Home Depot, so we had to go to Lowes as well(and then back to Lowes later on when we found out we didn’t have enough pavers and a few other things).

We didn’t even up having enough “fencing” to make the potty area as big as we would like but we bought out our Home Depot so I will have to go visit the other local ones to see if I can find some more. But this is how it looks as of now:

IMG_2251

The girls knew exactly what to do and they ran right down the path to the nature area to do their business.  Now, 3 out of our 4 dogs could easily jump over that “fencing” but as long as we are out there with them they won’t.

The other benefit to this set-up(in addition to saving our grass), is that  we can now take them out without leashes!!  If you’ve ever tried to wrangle even 2 dogs on leashes outside for potties you KNOW how awesome it is to NOT HAVE TO USE A LEASH.

We purchased some flowers to plant in the nature area just outside the fencing but there were too many tree roots, so I planted them in the front yard instead(1 azalea and 2 knock-out roses).  I also planted some lilies in pots that are on either side of the “porch” where the fencing starts(it couldn’t be flush with the house due to the concrete slab so the potted lilies serve to keep Lili inside the fence).  Didn’t snag a pic of that but I’ll get one soon.

IMG_2252

So, that was my three day weekend.  Did you do any projects or was it more of a relax/celebration type weekend?

-Tamar

14 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. silversnowdrop says:

    I love the June dress! I was leafing through my sewing book today and I am planning on making a 50’s halter neck prom dress exactly like yours but with a plain bust 🙂 Does yours have a boned bodice, and if it does is it really hard to put it in?

  2. kittehluvs says:

    wow – your sewing skills never cease to amaze me. I did some sewing too this weekend! Made curtains for our front room (FINALLY) after 4 years of holding on to the fabric in a closet and being lazy. And we started to attack the jungle that is our front yard. Can’t wait to see that dress on.

  3. Andi says:

    The June dress is gorgeous! I can’t wait to see the final product! And the accessories you made are perfect. You had a busy weekend! Mine was a combination of relaxing and getting stuff done, which was nice!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That’s great that you were able to accomplish some stuff while still getting relaxation time in. I always say I’m going to do that, but I never do. I’m just not good at relaxing. Even when I’m supposedly watching TV with my hubby, I’m always doing something else(reading, hand-sewing, ironing, manicure-ing).

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I’m now in the process of trying to decide if I want it to be a tea length dress or more of a cocktail length. I typically don’t like tea length dresses on myself as I think they tend towards looking frumpy, but hemming it to tea length would be a lot easier than shortening it and then hemming it. …decisions, decisions

      • guitargrl325 says:

        I had never seen it until recently, though my husband had watched all the newer episodes(since 2005) on Netflix. I had seen Torchwood with him though, and I kept seeing references to the Doctor all over Pinterest, so I finally told him that we should watch it together so we are. It’s definitely enjoyable and I like it a lot though I’m not a crazy rabid fan yet. Maybe as we get further in(we’re only 1 or two episodes into season 3 with David Tenant). I’m really hit or miss with sci-fi. I really dislike Star Trek. Hate it in fact. But I LOVE Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and Star Wars.

        I also LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Fringe(and I’m so sad it’s over), which I think was MAJORLY influenced by Dr. Who. Almost every episode of Dr. Who we watch, I’m like hey Fringe used this idea.

Leave a Reply

