Proficient

**For the entire month of May, I’m doing a N0-Repeat Challenge.  I will not be repeating any  piece of clothing throughout the whole month(shoes/accessories/undies not included).  At the end of the month I’ll show a Before/After of my closet(I’m putting pieces already worn in another closet for the duration of the challenge)**

Most medical school type programs(medicine, dental, optometry, ect) operate on a similar type schedule: years 1 and 2 are mostly all the general science classes, ie, anatomy(of all types from gross to neuro to head and neck to ocular), pharmacology, physiology, ect.  My school was no different.  In addition to all the general ed classes that everyone is taking, we also took optometry classes that taught us all the techniques/procedures we’d be doing in an actual patient examination.

During third year, we’d still be taking classes 95% of the time, but we’d also be spending 1/day week in the clinic seeing patients.  Fourth year is seeing patients 5 days/week in different clinics around the country.

In order to start seeing patients in third year, we had to pass a series of clinicals called Proficiencies at the end of second year.  This was designed not only to make sure we students had at least some idea of what we were doing, but also as preparation for part III of National Boards(which would come at the end of fourth year)  .

Basically, you went to four different exam rooms and performed different skill sets in each and were graded by a licensed optometrist (Our professors used the same grading scale as the National Boards so it definitely made me less nervous when I went for my Board exam).  You had to pass all four sections to be allowed to start your third year clinic.

This is actually all relative(sort of) to today’s outfit.  The blouse I’m wearing today is the same one I wore for my proficiency exams during my 2nd year of optometry school(which was in 2008).   Funnily enough, I also paired it with pin stripes for that exam as well(though pin stripe pants, not a skirt as I’m wearing it today).  This skirt is also from 2008 and I just rescued it from my too-small drawer** this morning(along with two other skirts and two dresses.)

I figured it was a good day to re-create my proficiency outfit as this past weekend was the third anniversary of my optometry school graduation.  I’m also wearing my brand new glasses I just received on Friday.

PS-My roots look so BAD in this photo, but I’m getting my hair done on Friday so you only have to suffer through a few more days of hideous hair.

proficient5 (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Saks Off Fifth, Cardigan: Target, Skirt: Venus, Shoes: Payless,Necklace: Maurices}

And without the cardigan:

proficient2 (1 of 1)

**So my two-small drawer…what’s that about right?  Okay, like most normal women, I’ve had some weight fluctuations in my adult years.  Most of the time, all I needed to do was tweak my diet for a few weeks-months and things would right themselves.  In the summer of 2009, I decided that I was really going to get in great shape for my graduation that would the next May.

I purchased p90x after hearing good things about it and figured I’d go through the program a couple of times throughout the year and be in banging shape by the time I graduated.

Initially, I followed the program to a T(even the meal plan).  I was actually getting good visible results but I was way too wrapped up in the scale.  All I could see was that number going up(even though I was getting smaller), so I started doing double workouts.  The scale wasn’t budging, so I started cutting my food back and then when that didn’t “work” I added running to the mix.  I ended up gaining about 10 pounds(and it wasn’t muscle) from over-training and under-eating.

I went back to mostly running with some occasional weight lifting and my weight gain stopped but I stayed around the same weight for awhile.  I might lose a few pounds here or there but never could lose the original 10 I had gained during the over-training debacle.  I took all the clothes out of my closet that no longer fit(pretty much just pants and a few skirts) and put them in a drawer.  I didn’t want to get rid of them in case I ever did lose the weight.

Last year, after my endometriosis surgery, I started back at the gym.  I was lifting heavy, trying to achieve that lean yet sculpted look.  I started gaining weight again.  In all, I gained about 10 pounds(again), which some was surely muscle(maybe 1 pound of it?), but still I didn’t look any better, and I had to put even more clothes into my drawer of clothes that no longer fit.  The lowest I felt was when I had to go buy new underwear because all mine was too tight.

This past February my husband and I did the Whole30 challenge and we loved it so much that we’ve basically continued that way of eating(other than occasional cheats and using natural sugars like honey and maple syrup).  I also started using Zuzana’s Z-Cut program as my only form of exercise(other than occasional runs).  I’ve lost at least the 10 pounds gained last summer, and lots of inches.  At least to the point where people are asking me what I’m doing because I look smaller and tighter.

So this morning I decided to go into my too-small drawer and see if anything now fit.  I still can’t fit into any of my pants, but I’m hopeful that soon I will be able to.  But, I did rescue this skirt, a lace skirt from WHBM, a wool pencil from Banana and two pencil dresses(one of which I’ve never worn because it was too tight from day one).

It’s definitely exciting and I can’t wait till I can wear all the clothes in that drawer(I hope that day will come!) .  Do you keep clothes in smaller sizes that you hope to fit into someday?

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “Proficient

    • guitargrl325 says:

      The sad thing is, I’m nearly done with my month and my closet still has tons of clothes in it. I may have to continue the challenge for a few more weeks just to get the closet more barren. haha

  1. dragonfly1121 says:

    I am so excited for you on your weight loss and I’m not gonna lie, a little jealous too. Your glasses are cute and I love,love,love this outfit. These are my colors, it’s even a family joke…purple and black 🙂 I am getting better about a variety, mostly because you inspire me! I bought a navy pin size polka dot shirt from NY&Co yesterday, with a coupon of course.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That’s so awesome that you’re branching out! And even more flattering that it’s because of me. It really helps to know that my blog isn’t just some silly narcissistic thing(though I’m sure it still is somewhat narcissistic, just not completely …haha).

      I had honestly given up on losing those extra vanity pounds so it definitely has been exciting to actually lose them and start feeling better about myself. Not that I’m trying to say that I was ever FAT or necessarily needed to lose weight for health reasons, but everyone has a weight/size they feel most comfortable in and when you are bigger than your comfort size(and/or what sizes a lot of your clothes are), you do wish to be slightly smaller.

Leave a Reply

