Impulse Buy

Since having this blog(and even more so with my goal of trying to limit my clothing purchases this year), I’ve tried to only purchase clothing that will have a purposeful place in my closet.  By that I mean, clothing that fills a void or a “need”(ie, I don’t have an item like it in my closet and I know I would make good use of it).  Occasionally, I’ll run across a really cute piece that isn’t necessarily on one of my must-have lists, but I will purchase it if the price is right and I can think of at least 2-3 different outfits I can wear it with.

The blouse I’m wearing today fulfilled none of the above requirements, so it was truly an impulse buy.

I purchased it back in March on a quick trip to Kohls.  Hubby was getting ready to start his new work-from-home job and we had come into town to see if his work computer had been delivered to the store where he used to work.  I didn’t know how long it would take, and since there’s a Kohl’s in the same plaza, I wandered in to take a look.

I wasn’t in there very long before hubby called and said he was ready to go.  I quickly rushed though the rest of the store and this ruffly sparkly blouse caught my eye.  It was marked down to $6 from $60 so I bought it without considering I didn’t know what I’d wear with it.  It looks awkward with a cardigan and it’s a bit too loose so it needs to be tucked in to look not frumpy.

So, it’s sat in my closet now for 2 months before I finally realized that it was perfect for pairing with my plaid taffeta skirt.

impulsebuy (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Kohls, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Payless, Bracelet: Beall’s Outlet}

I don’t have any other ideas of who to wear this blouse, but I’m thinking it *might* work untucked over some straight leg jeans with black pumps for a casual-ish night out(not that I ever really do that, but still).  I guess we’ll have to see if that kind of an opportunity ever presents itself.

If I were to title this post in regards to my hair, it would be “hairstyle that happens after you don’t wash you hair at night because you’re planning to get up early and work out, and therefore will wash and dry it before work….but when you wake up early you don’t work out and instead stay in bed playing candy crush on your iPad, thus forcing you to do your hair in a shame puff to hide it’s disgusting-ness”

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Impulse Buy

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m pretty good about wearing what I buy, but I have a few things here and there that just languish in my closet. usually it’s because I’m “saving” them to wear, but this was really the first major impulse buy I’ve had in awhile.

  1. Heather B says:

    love the blouse, it does go nicely with your skirt. And I have been there with the hair. Candy Crush can be a deadly time eater. At least they shut you off when you run out of lives…

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is true…but annoying when you are in a difficult level and you burn through those 5 lives in a matter of minutes!! I swear some of the levels are rigged to be unbeatable without paying for “extra’s”.

Leave a Reply

