Tricksy

**For the entire month of May, I’m doing a N0-Repeat Challenge.  I will not be repeating any  piece of clothing throughout the whole month(shoes/accessories/undies not included).  At the end of the month I’ll show a Before/After of my closet(I’m putting pieces already worn in another closet for the duration of the challenge)**

****This is Monday’s post that I guess I never actually posted, so you’ll get the treat of TWO posts today****

Title of post said in Gollum’s voice{obviously!}.  

How was your weekend? Mine was pretty stellar.  Both Gracie and Lili had appointments at Mommy’s Hair Care Salon(aka my bathroom) and now look adorable with their hair cuts.

IMG_8556

I also had a pretty good sewing accomplishment.  I made a muslin for a pattern that is rated advanced! Not only that, but I had purchased the wrong size and had to grade down the pattern 8 inches.

I don’t generally make my muslins out of muslin fabric, because it costs $5+ a yard, and I can find fabrics and sheets at Goodwill for $2-3 for 3 or 4 yards worth of material.

I’m forewarning you that the fabric looks pretty awful in this photo, but just look at the general shape and construction(I didn’t add a lining which is why you see some exposed seams):

IMG_2216-1

I only did one sleeve because that’s all I need to know it fits properly.  I’m hoping to have it finished in time for a presentation I’m giving for the Rotary Club.  I still have to grade the skirt down and make a muslin of it, but that’s okay because I have a few weeks and I don’t have the fabric I want to make it out of yet anyways.

I ordered some black with pink pin stripes fabric from Fabric.com last night, but I’m not holding my breath that I’ll actually get it.  It was on final clearance because they were low on stock for it(8 Yards0.  In my experience with fabric.com, any time the website says they have 10 yards or less of a particular material and I order it, I will end up getting an email a few days later to let me know they actually don’t have that fabric anymore and would I like my order to be sent without it or cancel the whole order.

If(when) I get that email, I’ll probably just run up to Jo-Anne’s or Hancock Fabrics to see what suiting fabrics they have.

I was also able to start the construction of the June Dress(aka the most expensive dress I’ve ever made).

Additionally, I did my typical weekend chores of laundry, ironing(3 weeks worth as I had been putting it off), grocery shopping and food prep(and discovered a new favorite food, which I will write about later.  Seriously, it’s getting it’s own post. IT’s THAT GOOD).

Okay, time for the fashion:

One thing I like to do fashion-wise is get more mileage out of my clothing.  I like, whenever possible, to wear my dresses as skirts.  I really wanted to use my birthday dress as a skirt with my polka dot sweater.  The only issue was that my birthday dress has a really high, straight neckline(that really wouldn’t have work with this outfit).  I tried tucking the bodice into the skirt, but all that did was make me look like I had gained 15 pounds over the weekend.

I was about to abandon the whole endeavor when I though, what if I wore the dress backwards(the back is a deep v)?

It actually worked out perfectly because the blouse I’m wearing pulls the gathers in the skirt in, essentially covering the zipper.

Tricksy1 (1 of 1)

{Dress(worn backwards as a skirt): Made by Me, Blouse: Banana Republic Outlet, Sweater/Necklace: Target, Shoes: Ross}

And here’s the dress see backwards without the layers(and seeing how uneven the stripes are at the zipper has me wanting to rip it out and re-install it ASAP):

Tricksy (1 of 1)

I wanted to let you guys know about a new blogger that I’ve recently become friends with.  Her name is Ada and she has a nice little blog where she features her daily outfits along with lots of pictures of her adorable baby girl.  She puts a lot of work into her blog and does a Week’s Best Looks feature, where she features her favorite looks from her favorite bloggers.  This past week, she featured two of my looks, so if you want to check it out, go take a look here:Best Looks of the Week. Go check her out and maybe you’ll see yourself featured!

-Tamara

One thought on “Tricksy

  1. Andi says:

    Very tricksy – wearing your dress backwards! I am excited to see all your sewing projects – I really need to get my machine back out and start trying to make things again.

Leave a Reply

