Triple Mixed

**For the entire month of May, I’m doing a N0-Repeat Challenge.  I will not be repeating any  piece of clothing throughout the whole month(shoes/accessories/undies not included).  At the end of the month I’ll show a Before/After of my closet(I’m putting pieces already worn in another closet for the duration of the challenge)**

Somehow, I feel like I always turn everything into this giant saga.  The latest edition of Tamara is a drama queen regarding clothes has to do with the dress I am making for the wedding I’ll be attending in a few weeks.  

When I originally selected the fabric, I planned to wear this pair of Badgley Mischka purple strappy sandals with it.  Of course I didn’t think to check that the purples matched or anything.  So, as it turns out the sandals are a blue based purple and the purple on my fabric is much redder, more of a plum than a true purple.  

Additionally, I thought it would be so easy to find some purple fabric for the bustier/straps of the dress.  HA!  Technically, I have found several “options” in terms of fabric colors that match.  HOWEVER, I want it to be a silk tafetta, silk dupioni or silk shantung(something with some stiffness to it).  All I’ve been able to find is polyester.  Now, I don’t have anything against polyester(the lining will be polyester because I didn’t want to have this dress turn into some $500 piece), but I want the outside of the dress to be all silk.  

I hated the idea of pairing $40/yard Oscar de la Renta fabric with $5/yard polyester.  I was actually going to just break down and use polyester when hubby talked me out of it.  He said if I’m making a super-special one of a kind dress, I need to use the best fabric I can find(even if it means I don’t finish the dress in time for the wedding)

Last night hubby and I went chasing around town looking for the proper color of purple shoes as well as fabric for the trim. We completely struck out.  I ended up spending the rest of the night scouring the internet for fabric/shoes.  I found some shoes that were on clearance, so I hope that they work(**fingers crossed**).  I figure if they aren’t exactly the right shade, I’ll paint them with fabric paint or something.

I ordered about 6 swatches(i.e., samples) of different plum silk fabrics from Mood.  I hope that one of them will work and that I can order the amount I need and have it delivered in time to finish the dress.  My plan is to construct the rest of the dress up to adding in the bustier and hope like heck I get that fabric by May 31(the wedding is June 1 in the evening so I should have enough time to finish it by then).  

So that story has absolutely NOTHING to do with today’s outfit.  Great segue way right?

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time you know that I love pattern mixing.  Today I decided to take it from just mixing too patterns to three.  I think the trick to making this work is not throwing all three patterns together but putting some visual separation between the pieces so that it looks intentional(as opposed to looking like you got dressed in the dark).  

What I mean is, if I had worn a striped cardigan, polka dot blouse and floral print skirt it would’ve just looked to busy and over-done.  I think by “grounding” my patterns with solid pieces and separating them(cardigan/skirt/shoes) it works.  I might be wrong though, but I like how it looks.  

mixed2 (1 of 1)-2

 

{Blouse: Express, Cardigan: J. Crew Factory, Skirt: Target, Necklace: F21, Shoes: Payless}

You may be tired of seeing these floral print shoes, but I’m not tired of wearing them!  I love everything about them, from the print, to the heel height, to the bow, to the comfort level. They are basically perfect in my eyes.  I would love it if Payless would make these in other patterns(like polka dots?? how awesome would that be).  

Have a fantabulous weekend!

-Tamara

PS-apparently fantabulous is a word?  I thought it was made up but I don’t get the characteristic little red underline when I type it so I guess it’s legit.  

12 thoughts on “Triple Mixed

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you…I wasn’t sure if the navy/navy would be too much but I do like how it turned out.

  1. Andi says:

    I absolutely think your pattern mixing works! We are sort of skirt twins today, but mine is black. I also have a very similar navy/white striped cardigan from Gap!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I often end up wearing almost the same or the same outfit as my favorite bloggers. Whitney and I have been twins on multiple occasions.

  2. dragonfly1121 says:

    Just so you know, I never wore polka dots….ever! I’m not sure what I had against them, but after reading your blog and actually trying them on…….I like them…so thanks!! You mix patterns in a way I never could and you always look lovely 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Haha, that’s awesome. I didn’t wear polka dots either till probably last year or so when I saw my sister wearing them and I liked how it looked.

      Here’s an idea: I will help pick out your clothes and you will come build me a garden and take care of it. Seems like a fair trade. HAHA 🙂

      • dragonfly1121 says:

        That sounds like a plan, too bad we live to far away from each other for that to work. Oh by the way……I am nominating you for the best moment award….thanks

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Darn, well there goes my great plan. What I really need is for the yard crasher guys to come take over my yard, haha. Thank you for the award! I don’t know what it means either, but it still nice to be thought of.

  3. Ada says:

    I love how we both did an almost-identical Skirt this week. Great Minds think alike. And today I am wearing my Polka Dot Pencil Skirt with Stripes & More Dots. I am also loving your May Challenge. I may do that sometime in the Summer & wear ‘No Repeat’ clothes for an entire month. It is definitely DO-ABLE!

    See this Outfit & more in my current Week’s Best Post here:

    http://elegancepersonification.blogspot.com/2013/05/weeks-best-looks-may-19th-2013-part-1.html

    I would appreciate it if you maybe link back on a future post, too, Tamara. Thanks, Ada. =)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Wow, thanks for including me in your roundup! That must take so much work for you; it’s really a nice thing to include so many bloggers.

      I can’t tell you how many times I’ll have an outfit on and go check my favorite bloggers and see we are wearing almost the same thing.

      You are welcome to use the No-repeat thing. The sad thing is, I have laid out outfits for the rest of the month and put all the clothes I’ve already worn in a different closet and I still have tons of clothes left. It shows that maybe I just have too many pieces of clothing! I may have to extend the challenge to try to use up as much as my closet as possible(obviously taking into consideration that summer is here in Georgia so it’s hot and I won’t be wearing sweaters and wool obviously)

      • Ada says:

        Thanks for replying. It would be kind to mention something that you were featured next time you post, by linking up to that particular link. Thanks so much. And don’t forget to follow me via bloglovin. Did you read on my post that you are My New Blogger Crush? I mean it. =)

        As far as that Week’s Best Looks, yes it takes an average of 4 hours to do. A lot of time I know, since there is a lot of editing too done with photos, collages & such.

Leave a Reply

