Inspired Style: Oscar

**For the entire month of May, I’m doing a N0-Repeat Challenge.  I will not be repeating any  piece of clothing throughout the whole month(shoes/accessories/undies not included).  At the end of the month I’ll show a Before/After of my closet(I’m putting pieces already worn in another closet for the duration of the challenge)**

I have a wedding to attend on June 1.  Obviously, I am making a dress to wear to said wedding.  Last time I made a dress to wear to a wedding(read about it here), I had about 5 days notice so I had to throw together something based on what I already had in my fabric stash.  This time I have had at least 2 months in which I could pick out the fabric and the style of the dress.

I knew I wanted something appropriate both for a wedding and the fact that it would be late spring/early summer.  I also didn’t really want a solid colored gown because I figured that would look too “bridesmaid-y”. I settled on wanting an abstract floral design.

I looked through all my favorite online fabric stores and fell in love with an insanely gorgeous fabric from Mood.  Not only was it a stunning light green with purple watercolorish flowers scattered across it, it was designed by OSCAR DE LA RENTA.

The price put me off of it for awhile($40/yard…I need 2-2.5 yards for a dress btw), but I kept going back to it so I finally decided to order it(with some b-day money).

It’s even more beautiful in person than in the small picture on the internet(and the background is much greener than this picture).

IMG_2119

This long drawn out explanation is all to say that, because I had purchased Oscar de la Renta fabric, I wanted to make sure I made a dress worthy of such a gorgeous expensive fabric, so I have been looking around at the Oscar website.

I have saved TONS of pictures from his website for inspirations, both in pieces to make and outfits to re-create.  One outfit that stuck out in my mind and made me  mentally put together my own version was this one:

oscarinspired

It’s definitely NOT a direct copy but more of a loose interpretation.  Maybe I’m way off base, but I feel like I kept the essence of the look while making it more affordable and realistic to us ordinary women. To me, the tassels on the jacket look floral somehow, which is why I paired my floral print shoes with this look.  And since the outfit features more of a teal/turquoise than cobalt, I added my teal necklace.

oscarinspired4 (1 of 1)

{Top/Cardigan: Ann Taylor Factory, Skirt: Limited, Shoes: Payless, Necklace: Target}

I went to the dentist a few weeks ago because I’ve had continuous irritation between two of my crowns(one has had a root canal, one hasn’t).  Everything was ship-shape(other than the fact that one of my crowns is poorly fitted and will need to eventually be replaced) other than needing an RX toothpaste to help heal the irritation.

Well, over the weekend, I started having pain again, but it went much deeper into the jaw.  I went back to the dentist this morning and it looks like I’m developing an abscess in the root canal tooth so I get to have it re-done!  FUN TIMES!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Inspired Style: Oscar

  1. kimmie says:

    Are you saying that the Oscar de la Renta inspiration photo is NOT an assault on your eyes? lol I think it’s super cute, and your outfit as well. I can’t wait to see how your dress turns out. $40/yard? CRAZY.

    And another root canal? Ugh. Sorry 😦

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I have no freaking clue why but this comment went into my spam folder and I just rescued it(now I am a literal white knight).

      Nope, not an assault. Maybe it’s because I don’t wear 10,000 pieces of neon every.single.day so my retina’s aren’t scarred. haha. For me, Oscar can basically do no wrong! My plan is to have the dress finished this weekend, so maybe I’ll do some preview photos(if you’re lucky) 🙂

Leave a Reply

