May Flowers: The May Dress

If you’re new to the blog, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to complete at least one dress/month.  You can click on the 12 Month Dress Challenge Link to see previous month’s dresses.

As I promised yesterday, today I’ll be showing you May’s dress.  I had originally planned to make a completely different dress for May, but then I found this green gingham fabric in the remnant section of Wal-Mart and decided it would make a very cute Spring dress.  The tag said that there was 3 yards in the piece, but I seriously doubt that to be the case.  Had there been 3 yards I would have been able to make the skirt portion a circle skirt(and there definitely wasn’t enough for that).

I decided to make it a strapless dress, so this was my first experiencing with adding boning to a bodice.  I followed the instructions exactly and only put boning in the side seams.  I wish I had put boning in all the seams…but hindsight is 20/20.  If I make this pattern again, I will definitely add in boning(I will also lengthen the bodice a bit as I felt the waist was too high).

I wanted to add a bit of something special to the dress so I hand sewed flowers all along the bottom with a few scattered up the dress.

I wore it on Mother’s day but the pictures didn’t turn out that great…it was too sunny and bright out, as you can see by our squinting:

mothersday1 (1 of 1)

mothersday (1 of 1)

I had a nasty altercation with a kitchen knife last week which is why you see the oh so sexy finger condom on my middle finger!

I took a few photos this morning of the dress so you could see it without the cardigan over it(and with me not squinting).

Without petticoat:

mothersday8 (1 of 1)

With petticoat(I wore the petticoat on Mothers Day)

mothersday9 (1 of 1)

{Dress: Made by Me, Shoes: Payless, Necklace: WHBM}

-Tamara

13 thoughts on “May Flowers: The May Dress

  1. kittehluvs says:

    That dress is something FIERCE! I really want to start sewing more complicated things but I’m lazy and scared of patterns. You really impressed me with your skills. Just gorgeous.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Believe it or not, this pattern is actually rated extra easy, so I definitely think you could manage it.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you very much!I love the bag you just did on your blog(the clutch/bow bag hybrid)…I might have to steal that idea!!

      • zachandclem says:

        Ahww, that’d be awesome 😀 It would definitely go well with the style of dresses you make!!

      • guitargrl325 says:

        I have made the small bow clutch that you featured as one of your inspirations three different times so it shouldn’t be too much of a stretch to do your version….though I do pause at having to hand sew in a zipper…hand sewing is my least favorite thing to do. But, it would be worth it to have such a nice purse.

      • zachandclem says:

        It didn’t take me ALL that long, to be honest. The inside of the bag is attached to the zipper with a sewing machine, it’s just the outer bag that’s sewn by hand, loosely, not even very thoroughly. Since I ironed in the hem of the outer bag, it wasn’t hard to do either.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      WOO HOO! Glad to hear it. There’s always a point for me when I’m making something that I think it’s awful, ugly and horrid and want to abandon the whole project, so it’s nice when it turns out all right in the end.

  2. Kimbercrafts says:

    I am so inspired by all of your amazing self-made clothing. I love what you did with the flowers on this dress!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much. I thought the dress without the flowers was rather boring and I wanted to do something to spice it up a bit. It was a bit of a pain sewing each one on by hand, but in the end I really like how it turned out.

  3. Anne-Marie says:

    You look so cute – and, this isn’t the first time I’ve thought it, your sister has a very ’40s glamour vibe with her looks and style. And ofc the victory hairstyle in this pic pushed it over the top!

Leave a Reply

