Dotted and Checked

This past weekend I went with my parents to visit my sister and her husband(my hubby had to stay home and work unfortunately) in South Carolina.  My sister was the director for her high school musical(where she is a teacher, not a student) so we went to see the final performance.

Somehow, I managed to miss the fact that they were performing the musical Grease until this past Thursday when my sister mentioned it. She asked me if I would do her hair in victory rolls(yes we know this is from the 40s not 50s) with pin-up makeup.  OF COURSE!  She also told me to wear something on theme and dramatic if I could.

If you know me at all from this blog, you’ll know I do tend to over-do and go a little overboard with things, so naturally I decided that Thursday night would be a great time to start a new sewing project to wear to the play on Saturday evening(mind you, we were leaving for my sister’s on Friday after work).

Originally, I thought I might make another dress, but then I talked myself into just making a skirt because it would be quicker and more versatile in my wardrobe.  I went through my fabric stash and pulled out a taffeta pink/black checked fabric I had originally purchased to be the lining for a dog coat for Aspen(which I made without a pattern back in the day when I sucked at sewing and it’s hilariously awful, I’ll have to show you sometime).  Since I don’t know when/if I’ll ever get around to re-making said coat I decided to use it to make a skirt for myself. I had just about 2 yards and while I would have preferred to make a circle skirt, I just really didn’t have enough fabric…so another gathered skirt it is!

In all honesty, if i hadn’t lined this skirt and taken the time to serge all the raw edges, I could’ve had it finished in about 1-2 hours. As it was, I worked on it Thursday night, Friday before work, Friday during lunch and Friday evening before my parents picked me up.  But I did finish it!

I’m technically breaking my no-repeat challenge because I wore the skirt on Saturday night and I’m wearing it to work today, BUT I’m allowing this small break in the rules due to the fact that I didn’t get a good picture of the whole skirt on Saturday.  Also, I never explicitly stated it, but I had not really included weekends as part of my no-repeat challenge anyways.

So let’s get to some pictures shall we?

My sister wore the dress I had made her for Christmas which was right on trend for the 50s theme of the evening.  I had never done victory rolls before so it took a few times to get it right(the first time she looked like she had HORNS)

mothersday6 (1 of 1)

mothersday7 (1 of 1)

She definitely has the pin-up look/body!  The awesome thing about her is that she fits perfectly into one of the stock pattern sizes without having to do any adjustments.  It makes making dresses for her pretty easy!

Here’s a shot of us after the play, where you can kind of see my skirt:

mothersday3 (1 of 1)

And her with the whole cast:

mothersday4 (1 of 1)

The kids did a great job.  The actor who played Kenikie(guy in the blue t-shirt behind my sister) STOLE THE SHOW.  He was AMAZING.  I hope next year they pick a musical where he can be the star.  Seriously, this kid is going to be on Broadway someday.

I didn’t want to wear the skirt in the exact same way as I had for the show, so I decided to be a little crazy and pair my checkered skirt with a polka dot top. To tone it down a bit, I put a sweater over the blouse so that you only see a bit of polka dots peeking out.

dottedandchecked (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Limited, Sweater: Old Navy, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Kate Spade}

I also finished up my May dress and wore it on Mother’s day, but I’ll post more about that tomorrow.

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Dotted and Checked

    • guitargrl325 says:

      She definitely does have that 40/50’s look about her. I’m more than a little jealous! She could give Christina Hendricks a run for her money that’s for sure.

      She’s the Joan to my Betty(haha)

  1. kittehluvs says:

    LOVE your sister’s dress and your skirt too! What patterns do you use? I am seriously getting my sewing machine out next week…you’ve gotten me so inspired.

Leave a Reply

