Poppy Red

Pantone Spring Challenge_days2

 

Today is the last day of the Pantone-Inspired Spring Color Challenge I’ve been participating in with Heidi and Marissa and whole host of other awesome bloggers.

I’m wearing yet another homemade piece today.  I wore a homemade piece nearly every day of this challenge!  My closet is slowly being taken over by my self-made clothes(which is exactly what I want).

I love to mix colors and patterns, but one color combination I had not yet tried(but have been wanting to for a long, long time) is red and mint/aqua.   poppyred2 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Sweater: Target, Skirt: Made by Me, Necklace: Etsy, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

I LOVE how it turned out.  I tend to judge how “nice” or “stylish” an outfit is by whether or not my husband makes a comment on my appearance.  This morning he told me I looked really good, so I knew I had a winner.

I really enjoyed participating in this week-long challenge(thanks to Heidi and Marissa for hosting it!), but the best part has been discovering a ton of new blogs to read and bloggers to interact with! I should’ve done something like this ages ago.

Have a FABULOUS weekend!!

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “Poppy Red

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It is wonderful but it always makes me wonder when he doesn’t compliment me if I’m looking like crap or he just doesn’t like what I’m wearing??? He doesn’t like cardigans so I know if I”m wearing one he most likely wont’ compliment it.

  1. Franziska says:

    I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that you make all of these beautiful clothes yourself! I really wish I had that talent. I think I’m going to attempt to make a simple skirt this week actually but I’m already dreading the outcome. Gotta start somewhere!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Seriously though, my first attempts at sewing were less than amazing. I’m going to try to find some pictures of my failures and do a post just about that. My best advice is to start with cheap material(I buy sheets at goodwill to use as practice) and make a few practice runs before you use nice material. People say installing zippers is difficult but it wasn’t for me, but you can get around that by doing an elastic waist for your skirt.

      Watch out though, you might catch the sewing bug and turn a gifted sewing machine into an entire room overflowing with several machines, dress forms and hundreds of dollars of fabric!!!

  2. The Modern Austen (@TheModernAusten) says:

    I agree with you. This week has been so rewarding because I’ve met so many new bloggers with great style and wonderful personalities. I am so glad you decided to join us! I can’t wait to keep visiting your blog for outfit inspiration and to learn more about you. Maybe you’ll even convince me to make a dress sometime…:)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I don’t know why I never participated in a link-up before. I was under the impression that they were somehow difficult or complicated or required computer knowledge way beyond my skills. I think now that I know how easy and fun they are, I’ll probably start doing more!!

      If you really want to get into sewing, I’d recommend starting with a gathered skirt with an elastic waistband. No zippers or buttons or thing to fuss with. My first skirt was like this.

  3. Ada says:

    Another stunning outfit there Tamara. You got me at Stripes & Full-Line. Both the dress & this skirt on which I have commented on are 100% something I would love to own, wear, etc, etc. You should submit one of these two looks for my BDay Blog Post that I should post sometime tomorrow around 6 PM Eastern time. What do you say?

    Have a Fab Weekend, Ada. =)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I am so sorry I didn’t get to this message until now and missed your birthday post! Happy Birthday, a bit late, but better than never right??

      What did you do to celebrate?

  4. heidi says:

    this was definitely the perfect skirt to wear for poppy red today. thanks so much for joining marissa & i during our challenge this past week, i always love seeing the outfits you come up with!

    heidi @ literate & stylish

Leave a Reply

