Linen: The April Dress

Pantone Spring Challenge_days2

 

I know it’s May, but I did technically complete this dress in April(per my once/month dress challenge).  I had planned to actually wear it in April, but then  I read about the Pantone color challenge and saw that todays’ color was linen.  Since the dress I completed for April’s challenge was in fact linen-ish in color, I decided to save it for today.

All the dresses I’ve made thus far have all had full gathered skirts, so I wanted to make one at least a little different.  I decided to go for a pencil/sheath dress.  As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have a lot of creativity in coming up with ideas out of the blue.  I need a starting  point, so I spend some time scouring different websites for inspirational ideas.

I fell in love with the silhoutte/bow of this dress from Saks:

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 11.07.44 AM

Last year I had bought some raw silk tweeds and wool fabrics for a few dollars a yard from fabric.com.  I decided to use a linen/multi-colored tweed as the basis for this dress.  I think Joan Holloway would totally wear this dress!

Because I wanted this dress to basically fit like a glove, I knew I was going to have to do some major tweaking and fitting on my pattern. I cut out a muslin for the bodice and the skirt but ended up still needing to do some fitting on the lining as well(which I then translated to the dress).

I’ve been getting some sewing/pattern related questions lately so I think I’m going to do a separate post about selecting/cutting the right patterns and how I fit them to myself as well as all the construction details for this dress.

Today we’ll just keep it simple with some pictures(pardon my bra strap for almost showing in this first pic).

Aprildress1 (1 of 1)

From the back:

Aprildress2 (1 of 1)

{Dress: Made by Me, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Necklace: Banana Republic}

The bow is removable so that if I want to wear a jacket or a sweater with the dress I can.  I have just under a yard of this fabric left…not enough to make a skirt or a jacket, but more than I want to just discard…I thought about making a removable peplum or maybe a little cape(though I don’t think I have enough for this, but maybe)?  Or making a cape for my niece.

Any ideas?

-Tamara

18 thoughts on “Linen: The April Dress

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! It’s actually a surprisingly simple pattern in terms of the construction. The only tricky bits were when I gathered the front part of the straps, it made the arm holes too snug so I had to go in and fix that…which was a huge gigantic pain.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      One day I’ll have to put together a post of my sewing failures(at least the ones I’ve kept around to laugh at how bad they were/are). They are pretty spectacularly awful!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Pattern fitting is THE MOST difficult part of making clothes. The instructions themselves aren’t really that difficult, but getting it to fit a body that isn’t symmetrical like the pattern is not easy. I’m not perfect, but I have learned a few tricks so hopefully they’ll help you out.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is a fantastic idea, however, I am so lazy when it comes to bag’s I wouldn’t end up using it! I’m a one purse kinda gal. Once I get a purse I like, I stick with it until I get a new one or it falls apart(which doesn’t really happen now that I’m carrying nicer bags). I might make a bag for my mom or grandma though because I think they would get more use out of it.

  1. Ana says:

    I am so envious of your talent and ability to make yourself something you want! I love everything about this dress, the pattern, the fabric, the cut, the removable bow! I am so amazed by you!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Well I just visited your blog and I have to say..I am sooooooo envious of your shoe collection!!! One of my goals is to own a pair of Christian louboutoins some day. I have 2 Kate spade, 1 Michael kors, 1 Stuart Weiztman and 1 badgley mishka pair of shoes but everything else is Payless and target.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m working on the post right now, so I hope to have it up at some point this week. I want to take a few more “construction” pictures because I figure most people are probably like me and do better with pictures than just words.

  2. Ada says:

    OK this one is Absolutely Gorgeous too. You are so Stylish, Sophisticated & Beautiful in all of these outfits, in [articular this one. What an amazing, unique Dress. Fits you like a Glove. I love the material & the tayloring & the little crystal button on top of the split, in the back – nice detail.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It’s funny, but the little button on the back is actually covering up a mistake!!!! The fabric was poufing out right above the slit, so I tacked it down with that crystal button…and now what was an error becomes a special part of the dress. I do this a lot. I’m starting a small store on Etsy selling infant car seat slip covers and I cut one of my panels for the tubing for the canopy too short so I had to add an extra piece of material. I covered up the seam by adding a small bow. So now, it looks even more custom and special!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You are right..I definitely should!! I am so bad at remembering to take pictures while I”m working on stuff that later on when I go to post about it I”m like, CRAP I should’ve done a tutorial on this. Plus I feel like there are so many better sewing blogs out there that I give up on writing tutorials before I even start with them.

      I actually did take a bunch of pictures of the construction of this dress with the intention of doing a tutorial…and then I never posted it. I’ll try to work on that

Leave a Reply

