Lemon Zest+No Repeat May

Pantone Spring Challenge_days2

Continuing with the week-long challenge put on by Heidi and Marissa, I’m participating today with my contribution of lemon zest.  Except I don’t really have many pieces of clothing that could even remotely be called lemon, so I’m going my own way and wearing my mustard skirt(I’m sure this doesn’t surprise any of you).

I’m pairing it with a blouse I’ve worn once before(back in the Fall), that I picked up at Goodwill because it was polka dotted and it had a bow tie at the neck(it is also silk and from Banana originally).  The only issue with this top is that it’s really too short for my torso so it really only works when I can tuck it in.

lemonzest (1 of 1)

And then with the petticoat…Just a warning, I didn’t even notice until now but my petticoat has strings hanging off of it…guess I shouldn’t store it in my sewing room eh?  Don’t worry, I didn’t wear it to work like this.  It’s not lined so it’s too itchy to sit on so I can’t actually wear it unless I’m wearing tights.

lemonzest1 (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic, Skirt/Petticoat: Made by Me, Shoes: Target}

Notice anything different about me today?  Don’t worry if you don’t, my husband couldn’t either…here’s a better picture:

lemonzest2 (1 of 1)

Green eyes!  I got some green enhancers contact lenses.  They seem pretty vivid and noticeable in these pictures, but in real life they are pretty subtle and only one person has noticed.  I also got some aqua ones but I haven’t tried them yet(benefit of being an eye doctor!)

All right, so if you’ve followed me for awhile you’ll remember that one of my resolutions was to have a theme month every quarter.  My first theme month was in January where I re-did outfits that I thought really didn’t work and tried to improve them.  Now that it’s well into the second quarter, it’s time for a new theme month.

For the entire month of May, I’m going to try to wear all or nearly all the items in my closet without repeating any pieces.  Once I’ve worn a piece it will be off-limits for the rest of the month(shoes/accessories are not part of this challenge).  I’m hoping this will force me to take a second look at some of the lesser used pieces in my wardrobe as well as provide me with a challenge since I’ve been feeling a little blah with my wardrobe lately.

If you’d like to participate in this challenge as well, let me know in the comments!

-Tamara

PS: I’m linking up to t+j design blog stripes challenge with my striped dress.  Feel free to join in with your best striped outfit!

6 thoughts on “Lemon Zest+No Repeat May

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’ve seen similar “challenges” by other bloggers where they say they’ll donate any clothes they don’t wear….I’m not going to go THAT far, but I do want to see how much of my wardrobe I can wear. I’m planning to hang my clothes up in a different closet as they are worn so that at the end of the month I can see how barren(or not) my closet is.

  1. kimmie says:

    No repeat May? You crazy, lady. I don’t think I could ever do a no-repeat month. Week? Maybe.

    Your top is so cute, and I love it paired with the yellow skirt. great thrifting find!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I think it probably just means I own way too many clothes. I have this thought/fear that at the end of the month my closet won’t even look that barren(I’m going to put the pieces I’ve already worn in another closet so at the end of the month I can see what’s left) and then I’ll feel really bad about having so much crap.

      I don’t really buy that many pieces(particularly anymore)…at least not compared to MOST bloggers I read who are bringing home 10-12 items/MONTH!! But what I do is hang on to my clothes for a very long time so I end up with lots of clothes…I have pieces from 2004 that I still wear regularly. As long as a piece fits, looks good and is in style I will continue to wear it.

Leave a Reply

