African Violet

Pantone Spring Challenge_days2

 

I’m continuing today with the Pantone inspired color challenge put on by Heidi and Marissa.  Today’s color is African Violet.  To me, the color they are calling violet looks more lilac, but I’m not a color expert(obviously) so I again, I went with what I thought was closest in color that I actually had in my closet.

I don’t have tons of light purple things, but I do have this one cardigan from the Limited that is a violet/lilac color(though in the pictures it looks much bluer than it actually is).  My belt is off-center(a fact which I am just realizing now while looking at this picture)

violet1 (1 of 1)

{Dress: Made by Me, Cardigan/Belt: The Limited, Shoes: Payless, Necklace: Ebay}

How fab are my shoes?  I picked them up at Payless last week during the BOGO(using birthday money) along with the same silhouette in a tan suede.  They are really comfortable for as high as the heel is(thanks hidden front platform) and they just scream SPRING!  I’ll be wearing them for Mother’s Day in a few weeks with the dress May Dress that I have nearly completed(it’s a green gingham print that I am sewing faux flowers to in an artful pattern…that description sounds rather awful, but I promise, it will look nice!)

-Tamara

20 thoughts on “African Violet

  1. Rebekah B (@MixedupBek) says:

    Hey, I’m stopping in from the Pantone linkup. I love that dress! I’m wearing a homemade dress for Lemon Zest tomorrow. Now I’m excited to go through your archives and check out other things you’ve sewn.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Awesome! I am wearing a homemade skirt for lemon zest as well…though my skirt is more of the mustard persuasion, but I feel the colors are open to interpretation right?

  2. Kimbercrafts says:

    Dropping by from Literate & Stylish – there is so much to love about this outfit! I’m so impressed you made that dress yourself, and your multicolor shoes are so much fun.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by! I feel that these shoes are going to get a lot of wear this spring/summer!! Sometimes there are clothing pieces you find that you just have to have right? I had been admiring these shoes for awhile but I waited till they were bogo so that I could save some $$

  3. Andi says:

    Ok, you are amazing for making that dress! I always think I will sew things, and then I get overwhelmed by the pattern instructions. Just noticed your 2013 Dress Challenge, and I am excited to see what you make each month!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Patterns can be pretty difficult sometimes. For the longest time I thought that curved seams had to line up perfectly and I could never figure out how to do princess seams or a curved waistband. I had to finally ask my husband for his interpretation of the patterns instructions and he was the one who figured it out. Now I love princess seams!

  4. heidi says:

    thanks for linking up with marissa and i again today for our pantone-inspired color challenge! i remember eying these shoes at payless, and i found a really similar pair with a closed toe at jc penney. i’ve only worn them once but i’m excited to pull them out more this spring!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Jc penny’s has been killing it with shoes lately! I’m still kicking myself for not getting those patent leather removable bow shoes that Whitney has.

  5. Franziska says:

    I wasn’t sure exactly what color we were supposed to wear, not that it would matter since I think I only have like 2 purple shirts. problem solved!

    AND YOU MADE THAT DRESS? what. teach me your ways, because I can barely slim shirts, much less make whole dresses.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I also have only about 2 lilac/lavender/violet things as well so it made the choice rather easy. I’m using the colors as more of a guideline than an actual hard and fast rule.

      Sure I can teach you to sew…just travel down to Ga and we’ll have a class(haha). I took home Ec. In jr high and that’s the extent of my sewing lessons; pretty much all I know I’ve learned on the Internet and through trial and error(lots of error!). It just takes practice.

  6. The Modern Austen (@TheModernAusten) says:

    Um. I NEED that dress. Will you make me one? 😛 Haha Kidding (or am I?) I have been too afraid to make myself a dress yet because I get too overwhelmed by patterns. Any tips for getting started? I made an apron with a pattern and that didn’t go terribly. But seriously, you look gorgeous. I thought the same thing about the African Violet/Lilac thing. I am loving that you are participating in this link party! Keep them coming!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’d love to make you one if I had any more of the fabric. I bought it on clearance from fabric.com over a year ago! You can get a really similar looking one at the limited(though I am partial to mine).

      I started sewing the end of 2011/beginning of 2012. My first dress was using simplicity 2444(it’s a cute style and pretty easy, no curved seams). I bought cheap fabric from Walmart(about twice what I needed) and went from there. I had to look up a lot of terms/tutorials online(and rip out lots of seams) but I finished it and it was wearable. One of my favorite blogs for sewing is Gerties New Blog for Better Sewing . She has tons of great tutorials( and a book that is really helpful).

  7. Salazar says:

    I’m stopping by from the Pantone challenge. The dress is gorgeous (and homemade to boot!), and the cardigan sets off your eyes so perfectly!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!! I am all about the eyes after all(since I am an eye doctor haha). I made the dress for my bday this year based on a Kate spade dress I love but could never justify spending $300+ dollars on.

  8. Ada says:

    Hi Tamara, I am Ada. =) I found you through Heidi’s Challenge Link Up this week and this dress is what caught my eye. I love it. The dress is Fabulous, you have some Mad Skills Girl. Do you sew on a regular basis? Now that I am seeing the large photo, I love how you styled it. Gorgeous Necklace & Shoes (are they recent from Payless?) I can’t believe it. On top of that you are very pretty & have Awesome Hair.

    I would love for you to stop by my little blog too & hopefully like it enough so we can stay in touch. Do you have Bloglovin?

    Take Care, Ada.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I pretty much sew all the time….when I’m not working or cooking. I even have my own sewing room(mainly because my husband was tired of me taking over his man-cave with my sewing stuff)!! I didn’t start sewing until the end of 2011, but I discovered that I adore it and I pretty much want to spend all my free time working on various projects.

      Yes, the shoes are very recent. I just bought them last week at Payless and my store had tons of them left so hopefully you can find some for yourself.

      Thank you so much for all the kind words! I definitely am heading over to your blog to check it out as soon as I finish this note. I’ve never done a link up before so it’s been really fun “meeting” all these bloggers and discovering all these new to me blogs.

      I do not have Bloglovin. I’m very minimal when it comes to my blog “stuff”. I don’t really do much with it other than post and read blogs I like. I didn’t even really start commenting on blogs until the past year so I guess I still have a lot to learn with blogging..haha!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! I love mixing patterns and any chance I get to wear new shoes, I’m going to take it. Thanks for hosting the link-up.

Leave a Reply

