Safari

I’ve been feeling rather uninspired in my clothing selections lately.  It sometimes feels hard to make your wardrobe feel fresh and updated when you are not buying any new clothes, but instead are trying to come up with new combinations of the clothes you’ve been wearing all along.

To that end, I’ve had to become more creative with making “new” pieces out of things you’ve seen multiple times(for example, wearing dresses with the bodice tucked inside the skirt to create a “new” skirt).  I have this rust ruffle neck dress from Target I’ve worn on the blog a handful of times.  I love the dress, but I’ve come to the realization that it is just too short for work.

I thought about giving it to Goodwill, but between the color and the ruffle, I just couldn’t bear to part with it.  I had the idea to turn it into a peplum top(with some sewing/alterations), which I definitely plan to do in the future, but for today I borrowed this idea from Elle at Fast Food Fast Fashion on to temporarily create a peplum from a dress.

I’ve paired my “creation” with a black/white color-blocked skirt that I’ve had for almost a year but haven’t been able to fit into until now.

safari2 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Bracelets(dress, worn as blouse): Target, Skirt: JC Penney, Shoes: Michael Kors}

I have a couple other dresses that I’m considering altering to make them into tops since I feel they are just too short to be appropriate in most situations.

Today is the third day in a row that I’ve worn a dress as something other than a dress!

-Tamara

14 thoughts on “Safari

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Awesome! I bought them kind of impulsively last year when my very favorite leopard print peep toe shoes literally fell apart at work. I still need to work on breaking them in because they’re a little stiff to wear all day(I end up switching into a different pair more often than not).

      I wish the “peep” part of the toe box was more “open” so you could see a bit more toes

  1. heidi says:

    i love this idea! i’m, not sure why i haven’t thought to do something similar (or just hem it to blouse length) with my similar dress that is also too short for work. i’m glad i was reminded of that from your post!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Glad to be of assistance!! I don’t know when I’ll get around to actually altering this top, but I am planning to document the process so that if you or others want to do the same you can see exactly what I did.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I stalked this belt for months till it went on sale because even though I adore it, I didn’t adore it $50 worth(it’s original price)…so scoring it for $15 was awesome!!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Cool!! I have no idea what that is, but thanks!! It made me smile that you referred to me as the little sister you never had! It’s a strange concept to think of myself as a little sister since I only have one sister and she is younger, so I’ve always thought of myself as the big sister. I’m glad you enjoy my blog!

Leave a Reply

