Accidental Copy Cat

Have you ever picked out an outfit to wear and then before you had a chance to wear it, seen a co-worker or another blogger wear an incredibly similar outfit?

The normal way in which I pick out my outfits is this:

1. Feel inspired to put together outfits.

2. Stand in my closet for anywhere from 10-30 minutes putting together outfits.

3. Wear outfits.

4. Run out of outfits and feel no inspiration. Frantically pick out an outfit each morning for about a week.

5. Inspiration strikes again.  Rinse and repeat

About 1.5 weeks ago, inspiration struck and I put together about 12 outfits hung them in the order I wanted to wear them.  Yesterday I saw another(actually “famous”, ie well-known) blogger wear an outfit that looked very much like the very outfit I was planning to wear today.  At first I thought, oh crap, now I have to wait a few weeks before I wear this outfit so I won’t look like I’m copying her.

Then I realized I really don’t care if people think I’m “copying”.  I know I wasn’t copying her, and even IF I were, isn’t the point of fashion/outfit blogs to give inspiration to each other?

Anyways, today the hair gods granted me a gift.  Obviously they have seen me struggle with my hair since the great bang chopping off incident and the dye-saster(haha) this past weekend.   I decided to curl my hair this morning, which, with my short hair can either be really awesome or really terrible.

It turned out really well.  I don’t feel like the pictures do justice to how good my hair looks(minus my bangs, which don’t look that great, but there you have it).  In person my curls look natural, which is what you really always want! I’m sure I’ll never be able to recreate this level of perfection with my hair again, but hey I’m rolling with it for now!

I tried a few different versions of my outfit before settling on the final look.

Shirt un-tucked(looks a little too casual I think.  Might be good for a brunch or bridal shower)

copycat (1 of 1)

Shirt tucked in with bow belt:

copycat2 (1 of 1)

And finally, just because how could I not add in my mint cardigan:

copycat1 (1 of 1)

{T-shirt: Van Heusen, Skirt: Banana Republic, Cardigan: J. Crew, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

More than likely I’ll be shedding the cardigan before the day is out(too hot), but I do like incorporating the teal and the mint from the skirt.  We seemed to have bypassed spring and have headed straight into summer.

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Accidental Copy Cat

  1. kimmie says:

    Hah! As soon as I saw the outfit I knew you you’re talking about 🙂 I love the version with the shirt tucked in. I think with fuller skirts, leaving a shirt out looks kind of sloppy (though I’ve been guilty of it too). Your hair looks super cute!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      HAHAHAHA!! And you know the thing is, before GOMI, I didn’t even KNOW About her blog. I only read about her on there.

      Yeah, I tend to think 90% of the time shirts look better tucked in…but this is something I’ve had to learn by seeing myself in pictures with tucked vs. untucked. Before the blog, I never tucked in my shirts. I felt like it looked better when my shirt(I typed shit first hahaha) was untucked, but seeing the pics makes me re-evaluate what looks good. That doesn’t meant I don’t sometimes untuck my shirt(did it again!) before I go to work just because it feels more comfortable haha.

      Blogging outfits has really helped me narrow down exactly what I like and what looks best on my body. It’s also made me much better at doing my hair/makeup(because if I didn’t blog, lets be real, I’d probably just slap on a coat of mascara and call it a day). When my makeup and hair look nice and my outfit is stylish, I feel more confident and am generally happier.

      • kimmie says:

        YES! I feel the exact same way. I always feel happier when I love my outfit and my hair. Some days when I know I won’t be taking pictures, I’ll just wear a blah outfit and put my hair into a sloppy ponytail, and it really does affect how I feel throughout the day. Scrolling through my archives always makes me cringe because I’m like, “ugh I wore THAT? and took a picture? and posted it to the internet?” so hopefully it’s a lesson in dressing myself better. Still a work in progress!

      • guitargrl325 says:

        SO TRUE!! I seriously roll my eyes at bloggers/people who want to act like dressing like a slob and not wearing makeup is somehow empowering and taking on “the man”. I feel so much more confident and empowered when I know I look good. Why can I paint my house and improve it’s look but I can’t do the same to myself?

  2. heidi says:

    well, i don’t know what blogger you are thinking about but i think you look great — we all follow different blogs, so you should never let what someone else is wearing prevent you from wearing what you want to wear. 🙂 and i love your hair, it always looks so cute when you curl it!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I honestly wouldn’t have known about this blogger either if I didn’t read the forums at get off my internets. But realistically, I have worn an outfit and then seen you or Whitney or Kimmie wearing something so similar that it’s laughable. I mean, we all read each other’s blogs because we like each other’s style, so it makes sense that we’d often own the same pieces and/or come up with the same or similar outfits.

Leave a Reply

